Getting old(er) in rants

  • April 12, 2014, 12:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Like most people who are senior citizens, I can't quite believe it. I KNOW I am 62, but still cannot believe it.

I look at my shopping cart at CVS and laugh - metamucil, probiotic supplements, other vitamins, incontinence pads... At least I don't need reading glasses and elastic socks!

I still carry heavy bags (although I'll guess they're not as heavy as they had been before), and walk long distances. I am aware there will come a time when I cannot do these things.

Aside from the diabetes, I am rather healthy. I watch television commercials for various medical conditions and realize I have NONE of them. That's a good thing. I keep many of them at bay with all the supplements I take. I have been "lucky" with the diabetes and the only part of the body it has affected is my mouth/teeth. I can no longer eat crunchy/chewy items. OK. I have learned to work around my limitations there.

About two years ago, I started coloring my hair again. It's clearly colored and many people compliment me on the color - somewhere between chestnut and auburn. It's the color that best goes with my personality (actually purple best goes with who I am, but since I work in the judicial system, purple is out). I use the same colorist all the time except once when that salon didn't have the shade I use. At the new place, the colorist mentioned that my hair is completely white. It's interesting as neither of my parents had a full head of white hair... ever.

I vowed many years ago not to need bifocal eyeglasses. I am still able to read in bright light with my regular glasses, and in dimmer light, I just take them off.

Coming "of age" in the turbulent '60's, and in the midst of the sexual revolution, my habits at that time would be shocking to the more staid times we live in now. I played with some questionable behaviors. Interestingly I find, as I am older, NONE of them holds ANY appeal. I find it's much easier to have male friends with NO hint of sexual tension between us. When I was much younger, I'd have laughed at that. I am thinking that's more a sign of getting old(er) than any of the other hints I've gotten over the years.


woman in the moon April 12, 2014

Interesting status quo report. I may try one too.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm April 12, 2014

there are a lot of good things about being older. i have to say in my mind and heart i don't feel 66 but, there are things that i no longer can do that i used to be able to do. i stopped coloring my hair about 10 years or so ago. i guess i don't mind the sparkly silver in my hair as much as i thought i would. take care,

Deleted user April 12, 2014

My scalp is being invaded by greys. I've decided to just give in to it since I am now 57. Where did the time go? sigh... : /

Crystal April 13, 2014

My mom is 51. Her natural hair color is a very dull ashy color somewhere between dark blonde and light brown. Several years back I started paying for her to get her hair colored for Mother's Day and her birthday. It's been 6+ months since her hair was colored and I'm really noticing the gray in her roots right now. Haha. Maybe its just cause her natural color is a bit dull so the gray shines out more, I don't know.

Darcy0207 from OD Crystal ⋅ April 13, 2014

I used to color my hair - as soon as the gray came in. My natural color is ash brown. Then I let it go natural. And LOVED it. About 2 years ago, I wanted a change, so started coloring it again. In between I tried purple... I loved it!! As did everyone around me, including total strangers who'd stop me on the street. Since I work in the courts, purple is out of the question (plus it only lasts for a short time... and who has THAT kind of money).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.