Foodie in Thirty-Five

  • Oct. 10, 2020, 4:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I stole this from Gangleri so here you go.

What’s the last thing you ate?
Leftover lamb shawarma 🥙, rice and hummus from Shish Kebab House (actually I am doing this later and I had Nachos and some Cinnabon)

What’s your favourite cheese?
I love cheese. A good dry sharp white cheese, like Trader Joe’s Unexpected Cheddar, or the older aged white cheddar. I love some good smoked aged gouda and parmesan.

What’s your favourite fish?
Trout, rainbow specifically, but I like all varieties. I grew up eating bluegill as well. I like most fish, salmon, halibut and grouper are some of my other faves. I dislike catfish with my whole being though.

What’s your favourite fruit?
Melon, strawberries

When, if ever, did you start liking olives?
I’ve always loved black olives (ya know a kid at Thanksgiving with olive fingers) and I only started loving kalamatta when I first tried them lol. Like 20 years ago. I don’t care much for green.

When, if ever, did you start liking beer?
I actually hated beer for a long time. My grandparents would drink budweiser and we would have sips of it when we were kids and I though that was just beer. It wad gross. So when I found beer that actually tasted good I loved it. I rarely drink though.

When, if ever, did you start liking shellfish?
Probably another once I tried it thing. I love shrimp and have been wanting food crab. Lobster is ok but meh I’ll take shrimp over it honestly.

What was the best thing your mum/dad/guardian used to make?
My mom made (I typed makes…) the best biscochitos (Mexican wedding cookies) in the family. Yes, even admittedly so, better than grandma’s. So those. And her red chile pork. My dad makes my mom’s biscochitos just as well as my mom did. He’s got killer tamale and menudo recipes too.

What’s the native specialty of your hometown?
My hometown is too tiny to have anything like that. But I’m from New Mexico and our thing is Hatch Green Chile.

What’s your comfort food?
Moms red chile pork or menudo.

What’s your favourite type of chocolate?
Hershey Special Dark. Or the sea salt Ghirardelli dark.

How do you like your steak?
At home I cook it them medium rare. Usually medium at a restaurant.

How do you like your burger?
Medium rare at home and medium or more at a restaurant (depending on the restaurant)

How do you like your eggs?
I like them any way really.

How do you like your potatoes?
Potatoes are great in any fashion. But, Mashed. Or pan fried with garlic and onions (we call them german fries)

How do you take your coffee?
Hot: non-dairy creamer, sometimes ill get fancy with frothed coconut milk that I’ve added splenda to. Cold: same as above, just iced, or the Whipped (dalgona) kind with coconut milk.

How do you take your tea?
I love tea also. I like flavored, fruity or caramely, honey teas. (need to find a good place to get good tea BTW any suggestions!) I like drinking it hot with honey. I am a milk tea drinker too. I drank fruity (passion fruit, Raspberry, peach, hibiscus) tea with homemade strawberry syrup and coconut milk all summer.

What’s your favourite mug?
I have far too many coffee mugs. One from Disneyworld that has my name on it that my mom brought me one time she went. A Denver Art Museum mug that a friend of mine sent me when I was living in Denver. Had that thing for 17 years now. And then the picture mug my sister in law got us for Christmas with our wedding pictures.

What’s your biscuit or cookie of choice?
Oatmeal chocolate chip, and the aforementioned biscochitos

What’s your ideal breakfast?
Eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes and toast.

What’s your ideal sandwich?
Twelve grain, roasted, mayo, lettuce, ham, turkey and either muenster or just plain old American.

What’s your ideal pizza?
Pepperoni and black olive on thin crust. Also my husband turned me onto pepperoni and Cinnamon on thin crust well done (from pizza hut).

What’s your ideal pie (sweet or savoury)?
I love some pumpkin pie. My grandma’s prune pie

What’s your ideal salad?
I love big salads. I usually go for like chef or Cobb salads that have lots of cheese and meat and crunchy stuff. Making my own I’ll go for Romaine and spinach, then shredded carrots. Tiny broccoli and cauliflower. Some sliced white mushrooms and then ranch. Add some blue cheese crumbles, sunflower seeds, croutons and bacon bits and we are good to go!

What food do you always like to have in the fridge?
Milk, cheese, butter, eggs, mayonnaise, pesto, ranch

What food do you always like to have in the freezer?
Meat. Butter. Cheese. Potatoes (fries, hash browns, etc). Ice cream. Bread.

What food do you always like to have in the cupboard?
Rice, pasta, cereal, canned potatoes, soup, crackers

What spices can you not live without?
Oh lordt.... I need to dedicate a whole entry to spices and seasonings we use. But our staples are: Himilayan pink salt, black pepper, garlic salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and Spike. Both the salt and pepper are fresh cracked. Spike is a blend of dehydrated vegetables (like 15 of them) that makes almost anything taste better but is THE Best on potatoes and cauliflower. Also if you can get ahold of either the Kinders or Weber seasoning blends (we got them at Sam’s Club) those are BOMB).

What sauces can you not live without?
Ranch, BBQ, Sriracha, Soy, Teriyaki

Where do you buy most of your food?
Safeway and Walmart (Sprouts is a close tie for 2nd)

How often do you go food shopping?
We do one big trip when we get our stamps and then usually one a week after that if we need other stuff.

What’s the most expensive piece of kitchen equipment you own?
Probably my stove and refrigerator but insurance paid for those. So something I bought would be my air fryer. We got both of our kitchen aid mixers for $80 so yeah that was definitely a steal.

What’s the last piece of equipment you bought for your kitchen?
New measuring cups and spoons. All of mine seem to have gone missing

What piece of kitchen equipment could you not live without?
My cast iron. I have 7 or 8 pieces in daily use.

How many times a week/month do you cook from raw ingredients?
Easily 4 days. Sometimes 7.

What’s the last thing you cooked from raw ingredients?
Some parmesano crusted chicken boobs and salty boiled potatoes with butter.

What meats have you eaten besides cow, pig and poultry?
Deer, elk, bison, bear, ostrich, moose, rabbit, lamb

What’s the last time you ate something that had fallen on the floor?
I have two Hoovers that keep heavy surveillance on the kitchen while I’m cooking so if something gets dropped it it eaten immediately.

What’s the last time you ate something you’d picked in the wild?
Can’t say I ever have honestly.

Arrange the following in order of preference: Italian, Mexican, Chinese, Indian, Thai, Sushi
Mexican (by default, yes I love it), Chinese, Thai, Sushi, Italian.

Arrange the following in order of preference: Vodka, Whiskey, Brandy, Rum
Rum, Vodka, Brandy, Whiskey. But I drink neither.

Arrange the following in order of preference: Garlic, Basil, Lime, Mint, Ginger, Aniseed
Garlic, ginger, lime, anise, mint, basil.

Arrange the following in order of preference: Pineapple, Orange, Apple, Strawberry, Cherry, Watermelon, Banana
Watermelon, strawberry, Apple, cherry, banana, pineapple, orange.

Bread and spread
Toasted 12 grain or potato bread with salted butter and chokecherry jelly.

What’s your fast food restaurant of choice, and what do you usually order?
Hmm Arby’s and I get a Beef N Cheddar. If I’m at home it’s Blake’s Lotaburger and I’ll either get a Itsaburger with Green Chile, lettuce, mayo, bacon and cheese or a chicken sandwich with lettuce and mayo.

Pick a city. What are the best dining experiences you’ve had in that city?
Denver. The Old Spaghetti Factory, Two-Fisted Mario’s Pizza, Pete’s Kitchen Greek food.

What’s your choice of tipple at the end of a long day?
Always go to bed with a tall glass of ice water.

What’s the next thing you’ll eat?
I don’t know. I’m hungry now though

Are you hungry now?
Yes

Do you eat your breakfast everyday?
I’m rarely up at ‘breakfast’ time so it’s usually lunch by then.

At what time do you have breakfast?
If I am up, before 10

At what time do you have lunch?
Noon to 3

What do you have for lunch?
Whatever is in the fridge or whatever is closeby

At what time do you have dinner?
Between 7 and 9 most nights.

What do you have for dinner?
Depends on what we have.

Do you light candles during dinner?
No

How many chairs are there in your dining room and who sits in the main chair?
Four and there isn’t a main chair.

Do you eat and drink using your right hand or the left one?
I eat exclusively with my left since I’m left handed (even putting my fork in my right hand to cut with my left hand) but I’ll pick up the cup with either one.

Mention the veggies that you like most:
Love veggies. Broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, asparagus, potatoes, spinach, corn, green beans, sweet potatoes

What fruit and vegetable do you like the least?
I don’t like the texture of fresh blueberries but I love them any other way. I’m not a big fan of beans of any kind and I don’t really care for bell peppers either.

You like your fruit salad to have more:
Berries

You prefer your vegetable salad to contain more:
Chunky veggies like broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, cucumber.

What’s your favourite sandwich spread?
Sriracha mayo

What’s your favourite chocolate bar?
Hershey Special Dark

What’s your favourite dessert?
My cheesecake

What’s your favourite drink?
Sweet Iced tea with lemon.

What’s your favourite snack?
Hot cheetos and spicy cheese.

What’s your favourite bubble gum flavour?
Orange or watermelon double bubble.

What’s your favourite ice cream flavour?
There’s so many. The drumstick is my current favorite.

What’s your favourite potato chip flavour?
Cheddar and Sour Cream

What’s your favourite soup?
Tomato and Cream of mushroom

*What’s your favourite type of dish?
Something easy to throw together and it tastes fantastic.

What food do you hate?
Catfish

What’s your favourite restaurant?
It’s hard to pick on Tucson. We are such a melting pot that we have everything you could ever choose from. I’d have to tell you my favorite from each type.

Do you eat homemade food, or food delivered from outside?
More homemade food than outside food

Who cooks at home?
We both do but I definitely cook more.

What kind of diet (e.g. low-fat, high-fiber, high-carbohydrate, balanced diet etc.) do you have?
One that sustains us

How do you keep yourself fit?
By not dying I guess.


Last updated October 10, 2020


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.