Dr... in 2020

  • Oct. 6, 2020, 2:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So yesterday the bf and I had our tele-appointment with the fertility dr.

Basically just going over stuff and next steps etc. He asked the bf a lot of personal questions about whether he had ever been in a relationship and tried to get someone pregnant and it didn’t work and whether he takes showers or baths and has he ever had a sperm count etc. I know he was kinda just caught off guard but I kinda expected the questions so it is what it is. Basically IVF is my only option really. The dr wants me to go in next week for a saline ultrasound. He wants me to start a diet immediately because losing weight will increase my chances. He wants me to lose like 50 lbs. I’m not sure that will happen, but my first step is to really cut out the carbs. And he wants me to take prenatal vitamins, vitamin d, and folate stuff. And eventually get off the muscle relaxer, antiinflammatory, and xanax that I currently take. This is going to suck.

The bf doesn’t really mind the dieting bc he cares more about how he looks in general. I just love bread… all the bread.


BonfireHeart October 06, 2020

Bread and cheese are my downfall lol, SO hard to cut those things out of my diet! But you got this girl, it won’t be easy but it’ll be worth it :) stay focused on the end goal.

Wrennie October 06, 2020 (edited October 06, 2020)

Edited

You can 100% continue to eat bread... I would suggest consulting with a Registered Dietitian (and not a 'nutritionist') for help creating a diet plan that can meet all your dietary needs without being restrictive. It is possible, and it's better for you long term. Best of luck!

Down the rabbit hole... Wrennie ⋅ October 06, 2020

I'm not going to cut out all carbs... I can't be miserable, but I know I eat entirely too many and eat fast food way too often. So I'm grocery shopping more and cooking more. Eating more salads and veggies. Mostly leaving soda alone. And trying to substitute where I can. The last time I did this I dropped about 30 lbs in 2 months. Exercising isn't particularly a viable option because of my knee/hip and arthritis issues. I'm seeing a rheumatologist but the dr said I need to get off the antiinflammatories and muscle relaxers for the IVF.

lessoff October 06, 2020

losing weight usually boost fertility. i think it is like 10%

❤️vee October 06, 2020

good luck and baby dust!

that said, I've heard weight loss is suggested before moving towards IVF or prescription medication.

JHkerriokey October 09, 2020

Not that I agree with the Doc about weight, you are such a Buxom Beauty .... but...

I knew a girl told the same thing her and her husband had been trying to conceive and the Doc had basically refused to help till she lost 50. She lost 20 and got pregnant organically.

Also, Rocky and I are trying to do low carb if we find a bread I'll let you know currently I've found Fit & Active low carb tortillas (at 4 net carbs) that I've used for wraps.... not bread though :(

JHkerriokey November 21, 2020

Catching up I noticed I hadn't read the entry before this one and accidently reread this one and realized....
Aldi has a 0 Net carb bread (all carbs are from Fiber) .... it's a little weird but funtional.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.