Crackhead Hours in Memories

  • Sept. 13, 2020, 11:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been spending a lot more time with my friend group, and I am very glad. We get together almost every weekend to hangout and vent, since we do indeed always have a ton of things to vent about. I have not had the chance to write about some of my favorite nights, so I shall do so now.

A couple weeks ago while we were hanging out, we decided we should walk to another of our houses, only a few blocks away, to retrieve the huge box of things left behind from my friend’s breakup so we could bring it back to glitter bomb it. I decided it would be a good time to readjust to roller blades after not wearing them for ages.

You see where this is going.

We struggle down the driveway and out onto the main street as the sun is beginning to set, laughing our butts off as I try not to fall flat on my face. Along the way, twigs and flowers appeared in our hair and clothes (we pick out things from nature as we walk because they look cool to us). The best part however, was that on our way, we saw an abandoned shopping cart laying on its side in the bushes.

Well, who is going to leave the perfectly good shopping cart? Of course, we waltz across the street, and I struggle ahead so I do not run over anyone as I fight with wheels beneath my feet. The shopping cart was righted and taken with us, to be carried with us to this day and stored in the backyard. (As of now, it is spray-painted pink.)

Only a few blocks later, a steep dip came and the street and, as anyone could guess, by clumsy but went slipping and sliding down and a couple seconds later my butt is aching on the floor. We are all in hysterical laughter, because there is a car trying to turn into the housing tract that I feel in, and I have to shuffle on my knees to the curb with roller skates on my feet, as a friend pushes a shopping cart behind me, and two more are rolling on the floor laughing across the street.

My empty brain forgot to bring spare shoes in the event I wanted to stop and normally walk, so I walked the rest of the way to our friend’s house and back with socks on, that now have no bottoms. I fear what passerby must have seen. A group of crazy teenagers walking down the street with weird movements, one with no shoes, one 2 feet taller than all of them, one pushing a shopping cart, and all of them dancing to the same song screamed from sore vocal cords.

My tailbone is still sore if I sit for more than an hour, by the way.

Two weekends ago, while it was still smokey and terribly hot outside, we decided to walk the two blocks to our friends house to kidnap him and bring him back, since he was taking to long to finish homework and come himself. A group of 4 kids are half naked in swim suits with bags of ice, a mister, blasting music, and pushing each other in a shopping cart. We stayed in the housing track this time since our friend lives so close to where we hang out, so I feel bad for neighbors sitting by their windows.

These weekly hangouts are doing wonders for my plummeting mental health. High school teachers are stressing me out, as are personal emotion which suck, so its nice to have free time. I can tell my mother is mad that I am away every weekend because she does not like having to take me places, even a 2 minute drive, or deal with the fact that I am not under her control. However, it is fine. Mom (our friend’s mom) will pick me up if my mother will not drive me.

I think we are all feeling slightly more stable now that we have these weekly meetings. It made me even happier when I told my therapist about these events, and she said it sounded like and old 90s movie. I love all the “old” (not really that old) times, so living like I am a part of it brings a lot of joy. It is nice to have happy moments so often again.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.