On co-sleeping in The Ugly Truth About Raising Babies

  • Sept. 7, 2020, 6 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Someone wise once said to me:

When it comes to anything relating to your baby and motherhood, everyone will have an opinion but remember: it’s only a problem if it’s a problem for you.

To that end, I’ve coslept with V in one way or another almost every night for almost 2 years.

She was in her Moses basket at Joey’s, then we moved out when she was 4 months old and she was in her cot in the same room as me until she was 14 months old, when we moved into our own place. She breastfed until she was 10 months old, and would wake a couple of times overnight. She’d sleep in her cot from bedtime until her first wake, then inevitably end up in with me to feed and would then generally sleep in with me until morning.

She went into her own room the very first night in our own place, I wanted to start that routine right off the bat, and generally she sleeps in her own bed for almost all of the night. She always goes to bed in her own room, every night, but I tend to wake up and she’s at my bedside around 4am, for some reason she doesn’t seem to settle herself back very well if she wakes. I know it’ll come in time, she’s not two yet.

If I’m honest, there’s something so special about her tiny body snuggling in. There’s something incredibly special about being that comfort for her. It’s always baffled me a little bit that people think there’s something strange about it, don’t we crave connection and comfort as adults? Isn’t there something wonderful about climbing into bed at the end of the day and having a little snuggle with our significant other, while we chat about our day and drift off to sleep? I know it’s something I miss, with being single, that little squeeze of a hand at the end of the day, that other head on the pillow next to me.

I hope it’s something she’ll do for a long time to come. I like my space, I don’t want her in with me for the whole entire night, sleep is scarce with working nights, but I hope if she needs me she’ll always feel that she can come to me and be welcomed with open arms.


The Distance September 07, 2020

ahhh, I miss those snuggles with a little baby. My youngest used to face away from me and nestle under my chin. It felt perfect. Then he turned in to a fidgety toddler... he still loves his cuddles but I'm glad he likes his own bed all through the night now ;)

Bumbly September 07, 2020

Mine are almost 4 and 5 and I still wake up to find they've squashed themselves in the middle at least half the week 😄

Camdengirl September 07, 2020

Good advice that. For me, I need sleep and both of mine wriggle, co sleeping was never an option!

bouchie September 07, 2020

My first child was a snuggly cosleeper, but my second wanted nothing to do with it. It is very special, sleeping with your offspring nestled in your arms!

BlueEyes418 September 07, 2020

I agree that it's only a problem if you think there's a problem. Enjoy those snuggles. Children are only small for such a short amount of time. And they never forget feeling loved and wanted while growing up. <3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.