Not more sane, but in a better mood in These titles mean nothing.

  • Sept. 6, 2020, 3:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh my god - not another list!!!??

Guess so.

Here goes —

  • I ate a whole Amish apple pie in the last 24 hours. Half in daylight, half in dark. It was quite tasty - made with fresh apples, I believe, because they had a bit of an al dente feel to them. The pie and a loaf of still warm Amish bread were delivered by the neighbor guy who appreciates being let hunt. He and another neighbor guy have first dibbs on hunting and trapping our land. They negotiate rights between them and get along will - I definitely hope. Not sure if the other guy brings food or not though.

  • Also not sure if calories consumed in daylight stick more than those consumed in the dark. A person is generally more active during the day so maybe night is worse. On the other hand it’s dark and you can’t see how fat you are, so maybe you gain less. Days are getting shorter, nights longer now. We get to the halfway point on the 23rd of this month according to my Innovative Ag Services calendar that hangs on the end of the cupboard that juts out above my table site.

  • I wish I could see sunrise from my table. I stood looking out the east windows and thought that would be a bad place for the table. Guess I need a new house.

  • This is a bad bullet list. All three points relate to one another and so does this one. Shame on me.

  • And I want to write about food/diet/eating. I have a bunch of Joana’s energy drinks and instant breakfasts left. I think I’ll mix them half and half with milk and heat them up and drink them myself. Not diet food, but after you’ve eaten an Amish pie in 24 hours, you can’t be considered on a diet.

  • My veggie and protein dishes are still good though. Scrambled eggs and green peppers, cucumbers and or tomatoes with tuna or cottage cheese. Chopped celery is nice too. I like to eat a bowl full of those things. I’m into volume if you haven’t noticed. I add a little cider vinegar or onions or semi-low-cal Italian dressing from time to time.

  • It rained last night. Jim had to fold up the kids’ camper in the dark. It was hard work. I don’t know if the seat belt is fixed. He picked up the part from the GM dealer in town the other day and it was frightfully expensive. The Ice Cream Truck is home.

  • I miss running mechanical stuff by my brother. He was an authority on everything. He resented his wife’s cooking when he had cancer. Putting him together with Joana makes me think feeding a cancer patient is a study in various kinds of futility. Eating is something they have control of. And since they are sick, they don’t want to eat. I understand but it’s still not easy.

  • Mike was fun to talk about the world with. He’s been almost everywhere and he had opinions. He had this mixed arrogance and sympathy that made him great in his own way. He and Joana were opposites in many ways but they came from the same place, from different but the same families. They were both attached to me, and I to them.

  • The Freud bio by Peter Gay is not one of those chatty, detailed, anecdote filled books. It has a lot about the history of his times - Europe from 1980 to 1950 was a lively time. Freud was born 90 years before me and I can keep track of his age and what my family was doing at the same time. I’ve always had a fascination with Jewishness - with intelligence and accomplishment and their trials and tribulations. I would like to know someone who is Jewish - someone who would be willing to talk to me. I have the same feelings about black people. I have lived an isolated life. I know the world exists, but the view from my kitchen table doesn’t even include the daily sunrise.

  • I have a new view of the word Liberal from the Freud book. The last half of the 19th century saw a lot of Liberal thought in Europe. In Vienna, it included letting Jews do more things, as well as social liberation. There were Jews in government - every ‘diligent Jewish boy carried a minister’s portfolio in his satchel’ - a quote from Freud’s first book The Interpretation of Dreams which included personal memories.

  • Next paragraph starts with this sentence - it’s long and a lot to type so bear with me please - ‘ There is something a little pathetic about Freud paraphrasing the the late 1890 Napoleon’s memorable revolutionary dictum that each solider carried a marshal’s baton in his knapsack.’

  • A couple years ago started to read - library copy so I had to take it back - I love OWNING books - a bio of Napoleon. Part of what I remember is that the French military was controlled (and officered) by nobility - UNTIL artillery required officers to know math so set the guns to hit a certain place. And that opened up positions for bright at math boys who didn’t have the right pedigrees. So there’s why you need to take math. It opens up the world for poor boys. And perhaps girls.

  • So back to the term liberal - I’ve always been a liberal. When phone surveyors ask I say I am ‘extremely liberal’ so they know who whey are talking to. But now associating the term with allowing opportunities to Jews makes me even happier to be a liberal. Let us all be allowed in medical schools and law and journalism. I think from now on I’m going to wish I could have been a college professor.

  • I come from very ordinary people. My parents and their parents and those before them were poor and uneducated, and I am still poor and uneducated. I love that books and the internet can give me pictures of the world. And the advantaged and educated people who’ve made differences and accomplished things. If I had all the money in the world I would have a big closet filled with all kinds of china ad use a different set for every meal and I would have psychoanalysis.

So there.

Happy Labor Day weekend, everyone.


Last updated September 06, 2020


ConnieK September 06, 2020

Hey! I take great pride in my crazy. It is creative and it keeps everyone on their toes. You can eat scads of strawberries and stay under 100 calories.

When people get terminally sick, eating makes them worse. It makes the major organs work harder. Well meaning relatives want to encourage eating, but the truth is that doing so speeds the death process up. It's hard to watch, but nature does the job well in that most patients would rather not eat. I'm glad you three had each other.

Oh how I wish your kitchen table had a view of the sunrise! Could it be accomplished by taking down a wall? The Midwest has a lovely charm to it. People there are incredibly friendly and helpful. But I find the majority to be limited thinkers because they have not traveled much (some have never left their state), so yes, exposure to diversity is limited and must leave deep thinkers like you feeling a bit lonely. But that's what Prosebox is for. :)

Look in the dictionary. "Liberal" means generous, abundant. I am proud to be generous and abundant (and your only sin is not inviting me over for a piece of pie, which was very selfish of you and you're not even a bit sorry).

Most psychoanalysts are as crazy as bedbugs. Save your money and come for a visit to SW FL.

noko September 06, 2020

I too know the struggle with food and cancer. Finding the exact thing they crave. You could create a whole imaginary world around trips for analysis. Gracie probably knows as much as is needed to be known though.

woman in the moon noko ⋅ September 06, 2020 (edited September 06, 2020)

Edited

I could go see all the literary head docs.
Bob Newhart - he was 91 the other day so he may still practice.
Sidney on MASH.
Dr. Melfi on Sopranos.
The doc in August by the woman who wrote Looking for Mr. Goodbar, which is on a shelf in my bedroom. Point was August is month head docs vacation and patients have to figure how to get along without them.
Everybody for a while was in 'analysis'.
Judd Hirsch in Ordinary People.
Frasier AND Niles Crane.

NorthernSeeker September 06, 2020

An apple pie sounds wonderful today, or any day, or any day and part of any night. Basically a paragraph is something on the list of ideas in an essay so your list. I say this in support of the items to which you gave their own emphasis, is absolutely solid. We see the sun setting from our living room. Napoleon is one of history's more interesting people.

Beret September 06, 2020

I have never thought of you as uneducated.

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ September 06, 2020

All I had was 8 yrs in a one room school and 4 with the nuns and priests. And some really odd classes picked up during my techy career.

Beret woman in the moon ⋅ September 06, 2020

So maybe uneducated in the formal sense. But otherwise I don't think you are uneducated at all. Which is actually probably more important.

Deleted user Beret ⋅ September 07, 2020

Same here. Education comes in so many forms, and school is just one of them.

Purple Dawn September 06, 2020

Happy Labour Day w/e!
Pie and choc zucchini cake like I had don't count as calories this weekend. I was so happy when I determined that, I may have a piece of cheesecake at my Grandson's Bday supper :)

Neogy Titwhistle September 06, 2020

To practice psychoanalysis one has to be psychoanalyzed. It's turtles all the way down! Your family are landowners. That has always counted for something in the "civilized" world.

Wit' or witout September 06, 2020

Formal education does not does not make you smarter, it just confirms what was already there.

woman in the moon Wit' or witout ⋅ September 06, 2020 (edited September 06, 2020)

Edited

In the Wizard of Oz it was a credential. A proof that someone cared and put some money in you. Also that you stuck to it until you got finished. And it's traditional in families. Location matters too. It's easier in some places, higher population places, generally.

Marg September 07, 2020

Was the biography of Freud a good read? Could you recommend it?

Just Annie September 07, 2020

Happy Labor Day!

I took one of those online political quizes which matched me with the candidate from the Green Party. Yes, I'm liberal, but I'm also practical and any vote for anybody other than Biden is a vote for Trump.

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ September 07, 2020

You're absolutely right. Every election is important but this one is out of the park important. Biden is a little old but he's a good man. And Trump is just beyond evil and so wrong about everything and his family!! Wow it would be nice not to have them on our necks every day.

Serin September 07, 2020

What if you sub-bulleted? Then you could have Apple Pie, and lots of bullets underneath. Or you could have a blank bullet and just the sub bullets. But that's a lot of pressure to put on them. Like somehow they have to stand for the group as well as themselves.

Did you ever see Napoleon's travelling library? It's kind of brilliant, but at the same time, it's kind of boring to look at.

I liked Sydney. Maybe it was being(playing) a wartime doctor, but he seemed gentler some how. Less likely to judge me for my sins and more likely to feel them.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ September 07, 2020

I should know how to subbullet but I don't think I do. In my youth - when I was about your age - I had this job with a new computer and I was somehow motivated to learn stuff - also when I got on the internet I was motivated to learn to do stuff also. Now I have a lot less motivation. Perhaps because I feel I've already done stuff so why bother? I know it's not a productive feeling and it hurts me and also those I am in contact with but I may not care. Part of aging is discovering you don't care about things you used to care about. I think. I'm not sure.
Richard Burton had a big suitcase slash box in which he carried books when he traveled. He also had the attic of his Swiss house made into a library like a library library with tall book shelves coming out in piers from the walls. His diary is posted in twitter. I think it's been published in books too. It has his childhood.
Sydney and Father Mulcahy were both gentle men, and were both treated well by the writers and show makers. I could maybe go to confession to Father Mulcahy after Sydney and I finished up by analysis.
New subject - do you know about the Venture Bros.? Odd cartoons for when we have enough of mental and religious stuff.

Serin woman in the moon ⋅ September 08, 2020

I love the Venture Brothers. It's silly but can sometimes be so very epic.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.