I am profoundly pissed in These titles mean nothing.

  • Aug. 30, 2020, 10:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

One too many syllables for the first line of an haiku.
One too few for the middle line.
Doesn’t work for the last line either.

Feel free to argue with me about whether haiku deserves ‘a’ or ‘an’.


woman in the moon August 30, 2020

I'm reading and thinking about Amelia Earhart and Anne and Charles Lindbergh. Lots to think about. Amazingly flawed people with varying amounts of luck and good judgement.

gattaca August 30, 2020

"an" before "h". That's what we were taught. :-)

NorthernSeeker August 30, 2020

It's good you have things to think about.

woman in the moon August 30, 2020

Ah, yes indeed.
Are you into that flying stuff at all? Or celebrities of the 20s and 30s? Earhart died because she and her handlers were ignorant and overconfident - lovely combination - of radio technology. It was good and safe but there were rules to follow and they didn't.

Serin August 30, 2020

Too pissed for contraction or I think you get the five.

Not sure what a hard H is, but it seems like the N is for vowel sounds. An hour but not An house. I want a hard-H to be that cH sounds from yiddish. Chutzpah!

Purple Dawn August 30, 2020

Now I'm all confused about when to use an or a before an/a H

Marg Purple Dawn ⋅ August 31, 2020

Rule of thumb if, when you say the second word, it starts with a vowel sound, use ‘an’. So ‘honest’, for example, the first sound would be an ‘o’ so the an is needed so that you have the consonant n to break the two vowel sounds up - ‘a’ and ‘o’. Hope that’s not as clear as mud!😁

Purple Dawn Marg ⋅ August 31, 2020

It actually makes sense, I think we automatically do it when we're writing and don't even realize it!

Marg Purple Dawn ⋅ September 01, 2020

I’m so glad - when I read it back I thought Jesus that just makes it more confusing!😁

WhatDreamsMayCome September 02, 2020

I now feel educated! ;-)

Jinn September 06, 2020

I have always been fascinated reading about Amelia and the Lindberghs . They were interesting people.

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ September 06, 2020

Yes!! Midwesterners too. I'd like to visit Lindbergh's Little Falls MN farm which is an historic site. I'd also like to have all of Anne's diaries - I have a couple volumes and the book seller in McGregor has a special cabinet with them. I have a big fat collection of Charles' WWII diaries and letters that might even be worth something. And then there's Philip Roth's The Plot Against America that has Lindbergh running for president instead of FDR in 1940 - a really good book. Gives a really good picture of a Jewish childhood in the eastern part of the US during the 1930s and 40s. I love books. As if you can't tell.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ September 08, 2020

Me too . Books take up way too much room in my house :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.