Venty Entry in 2020 Vision

  • Aug. 24, 2020, 11:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Guys, I have been soooo lazy. This weekend I laid in bed until 1:30pm on Saturday and 12:30pm on Sunday. The only reason I didn’t stay in bed longer on Sunday is because my dog had had enough of my laziness and barked at me to get out. I had already taken him out for a pee break, so that wasn’t it, he was just over my shit. I told myself I could be lazy for one week after my return, and as of today, that week is up. But man, laziness was addictive! I was rough having to wake up early for work this morning. And by “early” I mean 8:25 am to move my body from my bedroom to my computer in the living room. You may judge.

I will return to my Wisconsin trip recaps very soon. But first, I need to write a quick entry about a text I got from my mom. It perfectly highlights why I have trust issues.

The text, which was sent to both my sister and myself:

Good story for you…two weeks ago yesterday - insert my first name here - first day home, an hour before I was done with work, we were notified by Public Health that a custodian in our building had tested positive for Covid and he had been at school all week (she works at the school district admin office, inside the elementary school). So the only person I told was Rob (my stepdad) and I put on my brave face, and went on with the visit praying that I made the right choice!!! All turned out well, but just thought you should know about my little extra dose of mom stress. Hope you are both having a good day!

So my thoughts (and I have a lot of them!):

-What THE ACTUAL FUCK?
-If she had told us, we could have been a lot more diligent about wearing masks, especially around the grandparents! I wore one around my grandpa on my dad’s side, but not my grandparents on my mom’s side
-My mom was somehow able to go that entire week acting like nothing was amiss and NEVER wore her masks, including when she was with her parents (psycho)
-I get why she did it (sort of), but did she really think I was going to turn around the day after I just got there? No. I just would have been better about wearing my mask!
-At least I wasn’t the only one she kept it from. My sister was kept in the dark as well. I hope my niece and nephew weren’t exposed. My sister is a dental hygenist and my bro-in-law is a physical therapy assistant for the elderly. Not two people you should be keeping this secret from!
-If you choose to keep something like this a secret, you have to commit to taking it to the grave with you. What did she think she’d gain by this? All I can think about are all the people I’ve been around for the last two weeks, mostly family.
-She knows my sister was just hospitalized with pneumonia last November and I was hospitalized for a week with pnuemonia in both lungs when I was 15. Given our histories that she knows all about, a head’s up would have been courteous..to put it politely.

So I didn’t even know how to respond. My sister responded “oh geez!” and I ended up just responding with the “shocked” emoji.

Shoulda just taken that one to the grave at that point.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.