Wisconsin Trip Recap Part 3: Days 5 & 6 in 2020 Vision

  • Aug. 20, 2020, 2:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Back to my recap of my road trip back to Wisconsin after not seeing any family for two years. We last left off on an awkward evening spent catching up with The Young Buck on Friday night (my first night back in Wisconsin).

Day 5: Saturday, August 8th

Saturday morning, The Young Buck and I woke up and decided to explore the trails and river at a local park while continuing to catch up with one another. He seemed in much better spirits once we started walking around to different areas of the park. Afterward, we grabbed lunch at a local cafe and discussed whether or not he felt like meeting my family while he was up in the area. He did. My family was also dying to meet the dude who could possibly like me. We first went over to my mom’s/stepdad’s. They live on a farm, and they gave him a tour of it, which he seemed to enjoy. Afterwards, me and him went on our own little walk through the farm, just the two of us and my dog. Then it happened. My dog went over to sniff a fence, which I forgot my step dad said was an electric fence meant to keep out foxes. My dog got zapped! He let out such a loud, sharp yelp that both my mom and step dad heard it inside their house and came out running out. Meanwhile I started crying. My dog seemed fine, but emotionally scarred. I asked them how bad the voltage is and they simply replied: “Well..not strong enough to kill him, but strong enough that he’ll never do it again.” Not exactly comforting to me.

Later in the evening, we all went to my sister’s house for a Taco/Family Game Night, Young Buck included. My sister and brother-in-law really seemed impressed with the Young Buck too even though hes currently unemployed, doesn’t have health insurance, and hasn’t registered for classes. They were swooned by him though. I really wish he was in a better place right now and that he could maybe get some help that he might need. He told me he regretted moving to Ohio. He told me that I played with my niece and nephew very well and that I made for a great Aunt who’s good with kids. That made my heart warm.

After Taco/Family game night, The Young Buck and I went on a late night stroll along the river. It had stormed during the evening and had just stopped, so we were out in the post-storm atmosphere and it felt good. Then The Young Buck asked “where are you planning on sleeping tonight?” and I said “well I thought about going back with you, but if you want the night alone I completely understand.” He said he wanted a good night’s sleep before his drive back to Ohio the next day, and that he wanted to go back to the hotel alone. Deflated, I was trying to figure it out in my head. Like, he drove all this way to have one night of awkward sex and meet my family? I’m still trying to figure out.

But since he didn’t want me to go back with him, I had go break into my mom’s house at about 11pm like “sorry mom, won’t be creating grandbabies for you tonight, he didn’t want to spend a second night with me.” Not what I actually said. But I felt so stupid because they were under the impression I would be spending my first two nights with him. They were probably wondering what I did to scare him off. BUT ALSO, when I drove back with my dog, he REFUSED to get out of my car. My mom watched the debacle, and I was like “Its because he thinks he’s going to get electrocuted!” and I did not apologize for my attitude. I eventually got him out by bribing with beef jerky.

Day 6: Sunday, August 9th

Sunday I was able to see my grandma& grandpa on my mom’s side of the family, my aunt from my mom’s side, my stepsister and her 1 yr old boy, and my sister and her family once again. We had an afternoon fish fry and low-key day playing with the kids in the yard on the farm. My nephew showed me how to use his hoverboard that he got for his birthday, and I tried to show him how to use my skateboard, but he definitely wasn’t interested. My 3 yr old niece pushed it with her hands and was so proud of herself. It made me really happy. My nephew made us all play “hockey”, which was shooting a rock with a stick, but it worked. We played resourceful “hockey” for quite awhile. If was a pretty good, chill day visiting with that side of the family.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.