Yet Another Challenge (POS) in Days of My Destiny

  • April 7, 2014, 6:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just keep getting myself in deeper and deeper, don't I.

As part of the Drovers Committee, I put my hand up to play around with the POS terminal that they will be using. The thing is, nobody knows how to use it. I figured, well, I've worked with cash registers before, surely I can have a little look at it in my spare time, play around with it - SURELY I can figure this out.

There is no manual, nobody knows if there ever was one, if they lost it, etc. I found one online. It is impossible to understand. Why on earth aren't these things written in layman terms?

I basically can't do much without the key that opens the section to the printer anyway..... and there is no key.

So now I'm googling local companies that might be able to help. By local I mean, within a 5-hour radius. I found an online company that is all about POS equipment. I'm hoping tomorrow I can get in touch with them and HOPEFULLY be able to buy a friggin key for the friggin printer section. Oh and I also need a key for the cash register draw. You know, in case we ever need to open the drawer manually (these things do happen! Sarcasm here.)

I was playing around with the cash register the other night at the meeting, and it seemed simple enough. I wanted to know how to perform a refund. I asked how they've done it in previous years. Nobody knows. The main guy - ie the guy who MIGHT know something and who SHOULD be in charge p is in his early 70's and he simply put both hands out in the air, shrugging his shoulders. He said they always called out for Mary (forgot actual name) when they'd stuff up the machine. They called her thousands of times in one day and she'd get all pissed off and flustered. Mary has heaps of experience with this exact cash register model, so she was their saviour. Well she's not going to the Drovers this year.

And now I've put my hand up.

WHY???

I suppose I thought it'd be simple.

Since when do I like so many challenges?!??! Lol seriously....


Deleted user April 07, 2014

Hahahahahaha! Dearie me !! Are you referring to an EFTPOS hand-held machine? If so, couldn't you just contact the bank which it's going through? Ours is with Commonwealth and they're happy to help out with anything regarding it. They might even be able to send out a brochure/manual for it?

colour of water Deleted user ⋅ April 07, 2014

No no, it's not an EFTPOS, it's a POS terminal (which stands for Point Of Sale - as opposed to EFTPOS which is Electronic Funds Transfer Point of Sale lol) ie an actual cash register, with a drawer to put money in. It's old and big and heavy. Thtanks though lol. So prices have changed from last year and I also thought I'd easily be able to figure out how to change the actual prices in the system (though I didn't tell them this, but I worry that they might assume I know more than I actually do lol)... but yeah. Not so easy!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.