A GATHERING in Postcards 4

  • Aug. 15, 2020, 10:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Instead of being all alone as I was day after day at the nursing home after Covid began, I have George. When he just visited me at Balboa, the first nursing home, we would sit together holding hands. Now he does things. Today he is slow cooking a chicken, doing the laundry, and repairing the light wood TV tables Milaka gave us. They are nice but coming apart. And too, he is playing a computer game and watching “Merlin.”

I had said that I would do the laundry. Somehow that got glossed over and he is doing it, and I feel guilty. This retirement stuff isn’t equally balanced. We haven’t gotten the routines down pat yet. The old routines have faded away. With the Corona Virus in everyone’s life, everything has changed. If I order three books, two are shipped and the last one vanishes into nothing. If he orders things, they all arrive.

And he orders things.

I’m going to be daring this afternoon and order a couple of the seven Linda Castillo books I do not have. She writes very well of this foreign culture that I do not know. Dick Francis brings another culture my way. Perfect things for those of us who are housebound.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………
- http://geeeee-zer.blogspot.com/Himself: Had a very busy day.
- Myself: My legs are jelly-ish from yesterday in the pool.
- Reading: One of the new to me Castillo’s, “A Gathering of Secrets.”
- Photo: 1984: Mage left, Milaka right in LA visiting Bobbie.
- Gratitude’s: One of my SIL’s had a stroke. I’m keeping him in my thoughts.


Jinn August 15, 2020

No more big health scares for you . Let George help you and do not feel guilty . You would do the same for him.

Marg August 15, 2020

I’m sure George is just glad you’re back at home and happy to do whatever’s necessary for you :)

Zipster August 16, 2020

I am glad you have George. He sounds so much like my husband who is always cooking and making salads. I love the photo. I am enjoying the wee details in the background: a stained glass window, some treasures on the sill and smiles on your faces.

NorthernSeeker August 30, 2020

Good for you getting into the pool yesterday and having fun! Attitude is such a big part of recovery. I hope you get the books you ordered today.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.