First shift in The Wanderer

  • April 6, 2014, 12:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last night was my first alone shift. I was out on the patio and it was pretty busy. It was somewhat overwhelming because the table systems are crazy there and my section was mid patio and they kept moving tables around so trying to figure out what table numbers I actually had was confusing. A lot of my coworkers were very helpful, but a lot of them seemed like they just wanted to treat me like the "new dumb girl". One guy was pissed because towards the end of the night he didn't have any tables and I still had like five on the patio. He kept complaining to me and trying to get involved with my guests. He kept saying like, "Um don't serve that one girl anymore she is obviously drunk". And saying shit like that where I wanted to be like DUH. Back off. I know what I'm doing. Then he got ALL the managers involved and it was the girls birthday and they kicked the entire table out. So all the guests were pissed. I understand if you are drunk you should not drink anymore alcohol, but at least let them stay there and sober up a little bit, and not piss them all off. So there went that party of 15. Most check was comped, and the few guests there that were not pissed left me some tip. Then this other girl kept getting on my ass to make sure I was doing my "running sidework". I didn't know what she was talking about since I was patio shift. Sure enough, I asked my manager and she was like "Oh you don't have RS on the patio." Um...okay. Moving on. So at another point I had to special instruction a shot since one table bought it for another table...I had to run it myself since I was the only one who know where it was actually going, and the same girl was like "Um we don't do cherry picking at THIS yard house". I just wanted to slap her. I told her IT WAS SPECIAL INSTRUCTION. Maybe you should ask before you accuse? So I definitely felt "alienated", especially went all patio servers were cut except me and I was literally out there cleaning and sweeping by myself for the rest of the night. Luckily, my last table of guys were awesome and kept me entertained and left me 40 bucks. Everyone kept saying "It was way too cold outside". I was like What the...it felt very nice and I guess I was the only one that could handle it out there without a jacket/sweater. I also saw this one girl that I later found out actually worked there, and she was super drunk and crying and kept trying to talk to all the servers and managers. I kept thinking, wow how embarrassing. Also, a lot of people asked what happened to Rodney and I had to explain that story. Then a lot of people asked why I lived in Massachusetts and why I was out here now. So I had to explain that story. It kind of got confusing when I would forget how much I told one person and how much I told another so I kind of kept it to "I used to live here, now I am back". By the end of the night, 2 am, I was so exhausted!! Another patio shift tonight, but at least I get cut early!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.