Belonging! in These Foolish Things

  • Aug. 9, 2020, 2:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good morning, PB friends! It truly feels like it’s going to be a good day today. Do you know why? I hung out with my old friend (and former boss and mentor), M last night and we drank skinny margaritas (tequila, lime juice, agave - possibly my new drink of choice?) and had a super healthy and light dinner and talked and laughed and had a wonderful time. Yes, I spent the night in her upstairs guest room again so as to not drive home sleepy with a belly full of tequila.

Thing is, spending time with human beings makes me feel alive. I know I have some introverted tendencies in that I do love my alone time - to a point. I do love time I can spend with my thoughts or going through old treasures or write in my diary or love on my dog…but there comes I time when I absolutely NEED human interaction. I used to be surprised when people would point out that I’m an extrovert because I spend a lot of time within my own brain, but clearly I have to have my peeps in order to feel alive. What is that? Is that extroversion or is it just being human?

And yes, I know I do get human time with my family on Sundays. But, there’s something to be said about a good old fashioned Girls Night complete with sleepover.

We didn’t do anything silly or scandalous. We just had an outdoor dinner and drinks and talked n M’s “Oasis”, as she calls it. We socially distanced our way inside and I had the entire upstairs to myself again (well, Martini and I did!).

And I communicated with some guys on Hinge while we talked and laughed. And I even made plans to have brunch with Karl today…so, it feels almost like a NORMAL weekend, you know?

I’m just so happy to feel some sense of belonging again. All it took was some socially distanced human face-to-face.

Note to self: keep this up! Done safely, it feels like a lifesaver and renews your spirit!

Love you much,
GS


Jinn August 09, 2020

We are All social beings even though some also can be introverts at times. Cut off from other people involuntarily feels painful and sad . Glad you had this good time !

The Thirsty Oriental August 09, 2020

☺️

Also, that margarita sounds good. Definitely can't use the cheap tequila for that, eh?

Deleted user August 09, 2020

Hooray for things that resemble the old normal. I liked the old normal :)

Marg August 09, 2020

I think we all need that human interaction regularly for our mental well being but my understanding was that an extrovert needs much more of it and gets energy from it. I’ve truly felt sorry for extroverts in these COVID times.

Florentine August 10, 2020

It's so restorative! <3

Complicated Disaster August 10, 2020

Good times! I'm (hopefully) off on a date in a bit too :) xx

bobbi01 August 10, 2020

Nothing beats spending time with someone who "gets" you. Especially if you throw in some Margaritas.

Deleted user August 10, 2020

Do you get energized by being around a lot of other people, as with parties, concerts, shopping malls, festivals, etc. and come home feeling happy, even if you're tired? Do you enjoy brainstorming with others, and does it enhance your work to bounce ideas around a team? Do you enjoy small talk, and does talking help you formulate and solidify ideas? That would be extroversion.

Or do you start to feel overwhelmed and drained after a fairly short amount of time in a crowd, and find one-one-one or small group interactions of no more than three or four other people much more fulfilling and enjoyable? Do you prefer to work alone, with your own way of doing things, without a lot of brainstorming and teamwork? Do you find people who talk a lot to be exasperating and do you despise small talk? That would be introversion.

We all need some human interaction, but introverts can go a lot longer than extroverts without it. I still don't feel much of a need to socialize, and if telecommuting became a permanent thing for me, I'd be absolutely thrilled.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ August 11, 2020

It's funny - it really depends on the situation. There are times when I wish the night would NEVER end because I'm having so much fun with people. And then there are times after I give a presentation or something when I'm wiped out completely and want to spend the whole weekend alone. I don't know what that makes me.

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ August 11, 2020

Ambiverted? Check out 16personalities.com It has given me the most accurate description of any of the sites based on Myers-Briggs, for free. Here's how they describe the difference: https://www.16personalities.com/articles/mind-introverted-vs-extraverted

plushcreep August 10, 2020

My go-to drink is tequila, club soda, and fresh squeezed lime. Simple and delicious!

pandora plushcreep ⋅ August 13, 2020

Ditto!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.