NO MEMORY in Postcards 4

  • Aug. 4, 2020, 6:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

I took a two hour nap this afternoon. I must have needed it. George says I have chemo brain, but I think it worse. Can’t remember things I used to do with ease….like delete old images from my point and shoot. Often I remember a book that I’ve read. That’s good since I am rereading my old favorites.

I certainly can’t remember how to make coffee. G drew me a little picture map with measurements and buttons and arrows to show me how. I have it stuck to the front of my monitor. G tells me when we have seen a TV show. At the start of all this I would say, “I haven’t seen it.” Now I don’t say a thing.

Margot is stopping by this evening. We have a mountain of boxes ready for her down in the garage. I remember my kids and grandkids. I’m not good at phoning them, but I know who they are. I remember George too.

I remember the Hotel Del on Coronado…one of 12 remaining giant wooden, Victorian, railroad hotels. As a teenager, I used to steal away out to the beach in front of it. Now I only catch glimpses of it in passing. I do remember having a birthday lunch in the Crown Room once. Another meal in another dining room too.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Didn’t like my choice of blue chair cushions. He’s online shopping for another choice.
  • Myself: Got the last used copy of Harold Nicholson’s “Journey To Java.” Terrible fight with my CC as we had been hacked.
  • Reading: Lindaa Castillo and Nichollson.
  • Photo: Hotel Del.
  • Gratitude’s: That I am here to forget.


ODSago August 04, 2020

Love hearing from you. I'm sure Chemo brain is playing with your memory. It did with Kermit's, too. He retained his memory after chemo stopped. I'm having old brain lapses, too. Just the way old brains do. Forgetting words that I've used all of my adult life, and parts of stories about the family I grew up in. It's ok. I am a good mother to myself.

Adventure before Dementia August 04, 2020

That's great info about the Del which I had never heard of. Memories may dim but recording our lives like we are doing in PB will help as we age....
I think I need to nap more but I always forget!

Marg August 05, 2020

I like your last gratitude! That hotel looks magnificent.

Kristi1971 August 05, 2020

As someone else said, you remember the important things. You might not remember small details about something or you might not remember something insignificant or small in general. Big Hugs. It must be so frustrating at times, but...you remember the important things.

Jinn August 05, 2020 (edited August 05, 2020)

Edited

I bet it’s chemo brain too . I also think it will improve .
It seems like you are remembering what is really important .
I concussed myself a few weeks ago falling and I have noticed memory lapses since. It is disquieting. It’s little things that I forget but it’s annoying.
Feel better ! Hugs!

Jinn August 05, 2020

That is a very impressive hotel !

aunty EM August 06, 2020

Who needs a perfect memory when they have such a wonderful outlook? You are my hero.

IpsoFacto August 06, 2020

You remember how to use Prosebox. That is a gift to all of us who have read you since the OD days.

NorthernSeeker August 07, 2020

Like a computer, now that you have deleted storage there is lots of room for new memories. Hopefully you've forgotten some of the bad things....that would be a good compensation for the loss. I don't mean to make light of your situation. I'm glad you are noticing the differences but getting on with life with spirit.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.