Un Poco de Bitching in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • April 5, 2014, 12:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Urghhh... I'm certain I am not the only person to think this but... Heaven's to Murgatroyd! Some of the work the professors have distributed of late is pointless... without reason, even. Primarily right now..............

As you all well know, my legal organization's auction fundraiser for charity is coming up- so I had to spend most of the day/week running around collecting all the donations. I logged over 100 miles of driving just today. There are only three weeks of school left; so I should be/want to be studying for Finals and the Bar Exam. I've applied to one job so far and I have a stack of 9 applications for work still to be filled out... all of which I had very much hoped to have completed by Sunday. Also- I received notice from the Administration that there are about 3 huge paperwork issues I need to work out with them to make sure the Legal Org's scholarship is appropriately dealt with. ALL OF THAT I'm okay with. I can keep those balls in the air, I can do all that, no problem. Hey- the one application I sent out, btw, I already got a call back and they want to interview me. I scheduled the interview already and.. yeah, it'll be an 8 hour round-trip... but getting closer to employment is a great thing. Even all of that- I can deal with. Found out my dad is having cataracts surgery over the course of the next two weeks... even that I can handle.

BUT... my advanced research class... the one that has required a bull-shit 3 page paper every week to "prove that we've read the material".... well, weird thing going on. There was a project assigned two months ago. Coolio, did it, turned it in. According to the syllabus, class e-mails, and the school's internet page... we were supposed to have conferences about those projects so that we could create a final version to submit closer to the end of the semester. After several weeks passed with no conference... I e-mailed the teacher. "Uh... we doing conferences?" The professors decided they didn't want to/didn't need to. So... with everything I should be doing instead.... everything I want to be doing instead.... I'm now working on this project (trying to get it turned in before 9am Saturday morning).... and I have very little motivation to do a proper job. I'm dedicating so much energy towards getting through it that it is embarrassing. I keep thinking "I don't need this class to graduate, the teachers obviously don't give a shit about this class because they refused to take time out of their schedules to do the conferences they were supposed to... now I'm supposed to read 15 Secondary Sources, 15 Primary Sources, and put together 15 Practice Tools... writing summaries and commentaries on each of them? That is more work than I had to do for Moot Court and that WAS a requirement to graduate.

It just... very much frustrates me. On the one hand- I signed up for this class; the responsibility is mine to do the work; I wouldn't expect any other class to be different. But on the other hand- this class IS different. The professors openly act as if they don't care, they don't take attendance (in violation of ABA rules)... it seems almost like a class taught by TAs who wanted an extra study hour... and yet the class has the largest work load.

On another note............. I wager tomorrow, in a sleep-deprived haze, I'll finally catch up on all my Prosebox reading. Hopefully, catch up on my writing, too. There are some creative projects on here I'd like to finish before mid-May, I have a political entry about Gender Identity and Gender Neutrality I want to finish, and lest we ever forget the venting of a slow bleeding wound.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.