HANGING OUT in Postcards 4

  • July 15, 2020, 5:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

I let today just let this Tuesday pass on by as if it were Sunday. Slowly sipping my coffee, letting dear G bring me bacon and toast, reading even more slowly while the tree outside moved gently in the wind. That was my morning. Eventually I got up and took a shower.

On the actual Sunday, we drove Grumpy over to Coronado to see two cruise ships just off the Hotel Del Coronado beach. One was actually moving when we got there and gave us a good view or two. There is also a small Navy craft out there with them.

The sky was filled with black smoke which I assured G was just a practice fire. I’d seen this many a time. The navy often had these fires to give the crews something to practice on. It was still going as we headed home, and I got a shot or two of the sky filling with smoke blackly. National and local news was filled with it, and this morning the Bonhomme Richard was still burning and listing.

https://i.imgur.com/aVyTdYc.jpg


Zipster July 15, 2020

The winds have blown the smoke out here by SDSU and it is not pleasant. Love the view of the cruise ships, almost looks like they are racing!

MageB Zipster ⋅ July 16, 2020

You can get a hotel pass to avoid the smoke.

NorthernSeeker July 18, 2020

What a great photo of the light sand, the vegetation, and the colourful people walking along the edge of the land. Are people still taking cruises? It boggles my mind to think so.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ July 18, 2020

No cruises anywhere in the world. Yes, I liked the sand and the umbrellas and the colors a lot.

Jinn July 27, 2020

Sometimes a ride can be an adventure :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.