Sorry... in 2020

  • July 10, 2020, 10:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

First of all… sorry to anyone that just got a million updates from me where I was moving entries into different folders because I realized all my entries were in the 2018 folder.

I really just wanted to come update real quick since I haven’t written a whole lot recently.

  • Covid 19 - Mainly… I worked from home for a while. I’ve been back to work 3x a week for probably the last month or so. Nashville jumped to Phase 3 too quickly and had to back peddle to a modified Phase 2, but I’ve heard rumors they may have to go back to Phase 1 again. In Davidson County the numbers have been around 400 new cases a day in the last 2 weeks. It had been around 100 before they opened bars back up and people were having protests and numbers skyrocketed. I kinda hope they go back to Phase 1. James’s job didn’t change at all because of covid, other than they weren’t allowed to take his client out anywhere.

  • Job Front - My boss got promoted and then they moved some people so I have a new boss and I’ve known him a long time so no big deal really. I had applied to be promoted, but I knew there were at least 3 people with more experience than me interviewing and it fell out the way I expected it to. James finally got a call from my work to start as a technician. He was a caretaker for a mentally handicapped guy, but that only paid like 11.50 an hour and was a good 45 minute drive each way. Now it should be closer to a 35 minutes drive each way, but nearly 18 an hour. He starts on the 27th. He was attempting to turn in his 2 weeks notice at his other job, but the same day he filled out paperwork for the new job his uncle passed away and he took it pretty hard and needed time off for the funeral. His other job threw a fit about it and he basically told them to go fuck themselves and isn’t going back. I personally wouldn’t take time off from work if one of my uncles passed except to go to the funeral, but it’s different for him because his uncle was the only stable male figure in his life. His bio dad peaced out when he was a kid and he’s only seen him once since he was 18. His stepdad used him as a punching bag until he left at 18. So they were close and he didn’t take it well.

  • House Stuff - At the beginning of Covid when I was home all the time and my sister and ex hubby were out of work, I decided there was no better time to install new flooring. So we installed like 1200 square foot of new flooring. It looks so much better. I ordered a new sectional and coffee table back in May but because of production it hasn’t been delivered yet. Hopefully soon.

  • Wayward Home - About a month or so ago I think someone dumped off 2 cats near my street. I had already taken in one cat that had just weaned her kittens with the plan to get her spayed, but when I took her to my vet he said she was already 3 weeks preggo. He warned me that she could miscarry since she got pregnant so quickly and I think he was right, because she stopped gaining weight and should have had kittens by now if she was going to have them. I plan to take her on Tuesday to get checked out again, then get her spayed. As for the other 2 cats, I trapped both of them. One was a bigger Russian blue colored cat that I think is part maine coon. I also think it’s a boy, but not 100% on that. The other is a tiny striped dark tabby with spots on her belly. The blue one escaped when I tried to get him loaded up to go to the vet. He was so feral the best I could do was coax him into a dog kennel, but it’s old and rusted and the door doesn’t close good apparently and as soon as we got outside he went crazy and pushed the door open enough to squeeze out. He still comes every night to eat though, so I’ll trap him again soon. The girl I took to the vet and she is also pregnant. Her belly is huge and I’m really hoping her kittens will stay in there until after I get back from my trip, but no promises. Apparently my house now has a maternity ward (both female cats in a room together).

  • Other Animal Stuff - My dog has been going to the vet about once a week to get laser treatments on his back. He has a pinched nerve or compressed disk or something and would constantly start squalling if he moved the wrong way. The treatment has helped a ton. He rarely squalls anymore and recently I’ve noticed that he’s lost some weight and I think it’s because he’s more comfortable and moving around more than he had been. I plan to take him back on Tuesday as well and I think the vet will be pleasantly surprised that he’s lost some weight.

  • Birthday - My birthday was last month and my parents are going to fix up my chicken coop for the pigs. It’s a large coop (like 8x8) that I can walk into and my pigs use it to lay in and sleep in outside. Since I put in new floors they’ve been living outside. So my dad is going to fix it up and run electricity to it so we can put like a heat lamp or something in there for winter. Also he’s going to buy the paint to repaint my deck (it’s a huge deck).

  • Refinance - I’m refinancing my house into a 15 year mortgage at 2.63%. Pretty happy about that. Going to sign paperwork today.

-Trip - We (me, my sister, and bff) leave for Savannah, GA on the 27th. We’re going to a book convention. Everything has been crazy because a lot of people had to drop out because of travel restrictions etc. Either way, we’re going and it should be fun, but it would be nice if the weather would cool down just a smidge. I had preordered several books, but then a couple of the authors had to drop out fairly last minute and some are sending their preorders ahead and some are just canceling everything. I got my dress for the ball. I picked the Rumpelstiltskin table so I got like a miller’s daughter type dress. And me and the bff made themed face masks to wear to all the lunch/dinner/ball themed events. I think they turned out really well.

I think that’s about it for now. Hope everyone is healthy and safe.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.