A Combination of Ideas in Book One: The Not So Daily Briefs 2014

  • April 2, 2014, 9:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh my.... I have been a bit shitty. I value all of my "Prosebox Friends" and all of my "Favorites" here SO much... and yet... I have not been properly keeping up with everyone. I truly hope you are all doing well and I beg your forgiveness.

I wanted to share a few minor items in the brief in-between of things...........................................

(1) I have begun a new mission of applications. I grabbed 9 different "Lawyer Wanted" posts on my school and state Bar websites. I have been filing them based on Due Date and yet.... the firm with the most pressing due date (of course) is the first filed. Within 8 hours of filing, I had been contacted for an interview.

On the one hand: awesome. My first "Godpleaseletmebealawyer" application got an immediate response. Problem? My personal best would be Prosecutor. This job is Private Attorney Defense Counsel... for those that know, that is a huge fundamental difference. Second problem? The interview would be 4 hours away. As busy as I've been... an 8 hour round trip PLUS interview... that is going to be a bitch to schedule. Especially when I don't even know if I want the job. That being said... it would be great to get the interview experience AND if they offer me a job- at least I'd have something to count on if nothing else materializes.

(2) The weather around here lately has been absolutely insane. It went from 75 degrees to 22 degrees in 8 hours. That is like a fucking schizophrenic weather pattern. And when you have a body-pain issue similar to rheumatologic shit... that kind of weather experience can be a nightmare.

Thus my body pain has been INSANE! After work today, I came home to catch a few extra Zs hoping that the added sleep would help.... and I slept for 9 hours. I missed class, didn't catch any of the assignments that I wanted to... it was a problem but not one that can't be dealt with... just an ongoing physical health concern.

(3) So... there is a long running thought exercise that is intended to "Guide the Mind to Ideal". It goes along the lines of "If you had infinite money, what would you do?" That isn't a fair thought exercise. Because... if I had INFINITE money?! Geeze... house, cars, pay off EVERYone's law school debt, help out the impoverished of my friend group, finally invest in that Bar/Comic Book shop I always wanted, and on and on and on. Infinite Money doesn't show you who you are, it shows what you value. So, I developed another thought exercise.... IF YOU WERE ON THE ENTERPRISE- WHO WOULD YOU BE? Of course, initially I figured Worf. Security, violence, strength, that sort of thing. But then I gave it a lot more thought. With what I've studied, who I am, what I care about... who would I really be? A ship's counselor. The Enterprise is a world of ideals. There are no lawyers, no war-mongers, it was created to be the ideal concept of Human Future.... and I realized that I would spend my time helping the Best-of-the-Best deal with the more abstract problems of reality.

(4) That being said: Deanna Troi and Beverly Crusher are damned fine!


Fawkes Gal April 03, 2014

If I were on the Enterprise I would want to be whoever gets to sleep with Mr. Spock. Damn sexy vulcan.

Park Row Fallout Fawkes Gal ⋅ April 03, 2014

I assume you mean Quinto-Spock... but I secretly hope you mean Nimoy. Yeah, he was a skinny man but love that Leonard... cut to "Ballad of Bilbo Baggins"

Fawkes Gal Park Row Fallout ⋅ April 03, 2014

Oh heavens no. Not that Zachary Quinto isn't good looking, but he does NOT have the sex appeal of Nimoy. I think it's the voice, he has such a lovely voice. He's a bit old now, but when he was Mr. Spock back in the day, someone betta' hold me back!

Fawkes Gal Park Row Fallout ⋅ April 04, 2014

And yes, the Ballad of Bilbo Baggins is legendary! You have to love someone who doesn't take themselves too seriously.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.