RAD: Foxy Silver in These Foolish Things

  • July 3, 2020, 9:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Name: Foxy Silver

Introduction Platform: A mutual friend! Right before the first lockdowns were in place in early March, I went to a little happy hour party for my friend Terri and there was a woman there who asked me if I’d ever consider dating an older guy… well, how much older? Quite a bit older (I believe he’s 66), but she also showed me his picture and he’s super attractive and clearly adventurous! So I was like, why the hell not? So here we are, nearly four months later!

Age: 66, I think

Relationship Status: Divorced 2.5 years. Three kids, seven grandkids!!! His family is so close-knit that that they do all of their vacations together – including his ex-wife. May be a little too close for comfort for me. Not sure. Need more info to figure this one out.

Job: CFO for large local hospital

Lives: In the rich ‘burbs. Burbs looking better and better to me lately.

Length of Date: 2 hours

We Did: Met for dinner at an outdoor patio situation. I’d expressly stated before we met that I would not eat at an indoor restaurant nor would I hug him, shake his hand or otherwise get within 6 feet of him. I told him it was not him, it was me. He was okay with that. I’m glad I told him all of that ahead of time because even though he works for a major hospital (he’s not an MD), he is the kind of guy who is extremely friendly and also looks to be potentially touchy-feely. Dinner was lovely! It was a beautiful evening – not too hot – and the place is super charming. He did a great job picking out a place that was close to me.

He Looked: He is extremely handsome and in amazing shape. Foxy Silver fits him. He has pure white hair and ice blue eyes and a dazzling smile. He was wearing a golf shirt with his hospital logo on it (he’d come from a meeting at the hospital) and khaki pants. Didn’t see the shoes as I walked right up to the table. He stood up and then we both sat down.

I Looked: Wore a new summery sundress with a vintage floral print that I’m not sure I love. Sandals. Mask that I took off during our whole visit. I know my makeup was a mess – first because I don’t even know how to apply it anymore, but secondly, I was trying to wear pretty red lipstick to match the floral print, the kind that’s kind of permanent that won’t come off on a mask or when you eat, etc. Somehow I’d gotten it on way too thick and I think it was cakey. My lips bothered me the whole date.

Convo: Getting-to-know-you stuff. It was pretty superficial. I told him about a condo I’d just looked at before our meeting (another story) and how my search is going. He told me about his very large family and how close they are. It was nice and we laughed a few times. He’s got that kind of humor that is full of dumb dad jokes and I find that endearing. He’s a doting grandpa. I don’t know how I feel about that. Only because he clearly wants to spend alllll his free time with his kids. Well, not 100% of his time – I know he plays tennis and golf and does yoga and spends a lot of time on his boat. So.

High Point: He’s suuuuuchhh a nice fella. Like, genuinely so kind and sweet and made me feel safe.

Low Point: The date made me feel old.

How It Ended: It ended rather abruptly as dates during this time tend to. There was no hug/kiss goodbye – it was more like, OKAY BYEEEEEE. And then we parted and I walked around the restaurant to the back and I think he walked through the place.

Chances Are: Not sure at all. I’m giving it a 50% chance he asks me out again simply because I didn’t get a feel and I think he thinks I’m paranoid because I’m scared of the virus, scared of my neighborhood and scared of people in general. I don’t disagree with that impression.

Date Rating: A solid B+


Complicated Disaster July 03, 2020

Sounds like a fun date tho? Like .chase said, you're being sensible! Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ July 03, 2020

It was a really nice date. I enjoyed it tremendously.

Jinn July 03, 2020

Age is a state of mind :-) He sounds pretty active and also good hearted. I hope he turns out to be someone you like.

Soliloquy July 03, 2020

I think I will have to start opening my mind to older guys like that when I start to date again. It does make me feel old too, because in my mind I still want to believe that a 25 year old hottie is still an option. Instead, it’s more likely to be grandpa.

The ex wife thing is a little weird but it’s preferable to them hating each other.

Ginger Snap Soliloquy ⋅ July 03, 2020

Well, remember, the 25 year old hottie can be a fun option! You might remember my young bartender I met in Scotland? He was 22 to my 51!!!

bobbi01 July 03, 2020

How nice was it to have dinner cooked by someone else though?

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ July 03, 2020

It was soooooooo nice! I mean, truly wonderful! I'm so sick of my cooking...which has turned into snacking pretty much all day.

plushcreep July 03, 2020

Interesting that the date made you feel old when he's the one who is so much older!

kansasgirl July 03, 2020

My mom ended up marrying a man 15 years older than her. They’ve been married 10 years now and she’s now 55 so he’s 70. Best thing that ever happened to her and I love how he loves her.

Marg July 04, 2020

Sounds very promising!

pandora July 04, 2020

I think I’m in a minority of people who find it a plus when someone is close to their ex in a family way, especially when kids are involved. I find that points to a maturity and lack of drama for the most part - not always, of course. But I would say it’s a good sign that he gets along with his ex-wife, and that his kids are lucky. I hope you do see him again. Yoga? Boating? Tennis? He sounds fun!

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ July 04, 2020

I'd muuuch rather him get along with his ex than be angry! He's a very happy guy and I like that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.