ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! in Just Jane

  • April 1, 2014, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I cannot believe a year could go by so fast! Some days (and nights!) seemed never ending, but they went by in the blink of an eye.

Declan was my pie-in-the-sky dream for many years. DH and I had wanted a baby since 2005 and it took that long for the opportunity to present itself. I think I have felt every emotion possible over the last year. I have been in states of exhiliration, exhaustion and have never laughed or cried so much. I have been overwhelmed by the depth of love that I could have for one person. It's been a wild roller coaster ride and I'm so grateful that Declan has put up with us while we learned how to be parents and care for a baby. He has had extreme patience with us through incompetent diaper changes, a drop off the couch, fumbling with car seat latches and embarrasingly mismatched pajamas. And through it all, he just keeps smiling. I think he is now breathing a sigh of relief that he survived his first year with us.

As I always tell him, he is my little slice of Heaven.


Though I wish we could have done something with Declan on this actual day, it ended up being business as usual. Took him to physical therapy this morning, wearing his crown that I got him for his birthday party. I took pictures with him and his PTs. They picked a toy out of the Treasure Chest for his birthday. Then I dropped him off at daycare. His party is Saturday. We went last night to look at the room we rented one more time. We will have plenty of room. We expect to have about 20 people when all is said and done.
We ordered the main cake from an awesome Amish restaurant. It's half chocolate/half white with buttercream icing. Since Declan is still iffy on dairy, we're making a banana cake with peanut butter icing, dairy free and made with unrefined sugar (Agave syrup to be exact). I am in the process of making a birthday storyboard with chronological pictures on it. we will have it at the party but it can be a keepsake item too. I also had an awesome 2x6' banner made for him with several pictures of him on it. If I ever figure out how to post pictures here, I will post some from the party.


Last updated April 02, 2014


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.