Chaotic Evil. in Open Diary.

  • June 22, 2020, 7:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Having recently finished Breaking Bad, I’ve been contemplating where each character falls on the D&D morality chart. Or whether each character is a hero, villain, anti-hero, or anti-villain - but writing THAT out would take ages.

I’ve been contemplating the nature of Lawful Evil. I generally think of white dudes on wall street who “follow the law” for nefarious reasons. I haven’t read D&D books, but there has to be another kind of Lawful Evil: Evil with a code of honor. Presented by the Salamancas. Their honor is that family is above all else. Hector Salamanca and his family did some really bad shit. Yet, if Tuco wasn’t killed by Hank, would you go after him?

Or would you say “Geez, he’s a bad dude, I’m out of here.”

Because, come on, most of us would take one look at these antagonists, grab our gonads, and head to Alaska to get away from them.

Except for one character.

Todd.

Todd kills an innocent child for no reason. None at all. Of all the deaths that happen in Breaking Bad, that was the one that made me, as a viewer, say to myself: Oh, that motherfucker better be dead by the end of this series. So many other “evil” characters in the show had some sort of code of honor. In-series, I would have been fine if some of them lived.
Todd? Certified degraded asshat?

Well, I think I made my point clear. Oh, and spoilers. Ooops.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.