NO HOARDING in Postcards 4

  • June 23, 2020, 12:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Rather than go through carrying things downstairs, we are still upstairs going through boxes. He admitted to his friends that he is a packrat. Bin after box of the most amazing things like my parents big, metal scissors, or a package of my mother’s slightly worn and rusty needles with a moving company on the cover appears. I must tell you that he isn’t making as many bad jokes today as he did yesterday.

Now that I am home and doing better, the get-well-cards have stopped arriving. Darn. I’ve become selfish and can admit that I really enjoyed each and every one of them. I saved them all to a folder prosaically called cards.

George is over there on the other side of the desk sorting things. Every once in a while he passes something over the top of the monitors. A folding traveling hairbrush, a picture of a Grandaughter as a paperweight, and an analog-Radio Shack TV of about 3 inches total. Out went two bags of trash. No more being a hoarder, he says loudly.

We are almost home free.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: The day is cold and cloudy. I can see the edge of the wall of fog over G’s shoulder.

  • Myself: <more magazines.<i=""></more>

  • Reading: Some of the mysteries BDMK sent my way.

  • Photo: “Star of India.”

  • Gratitude’s: For sill getting the house almost back together.


Chocolatechip June 23, 2020

I, too have things in my bedroom to keep or discard. I must also clean out my closet. Over my head looms the project!

Marg June 23, 2020

That sounds like a lot of work!

aunty EM June 23, 2020

Of course you know that within a short (or long) time you'll want (or need!) any (or all) of those things... Having radically "down-sized" three times, I consider myself an expert. LOL

MageB aunty EM ⋅ June 24, 2020

Oh, that's a frightening thought.

NorthernSeeker June 23, 2020

The decluttering pays off in the long run.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ June 24, 2020

Yes, but oh, it is hard.

Kristi1971 June 23, 2020

What if you chose one card a week or every few days to display? That would remind you of those that sent them to you and how they make you feel. :)

MageB Kristi1971 ⋅ June 24, 2020

Nice idea.

Zipster June 25, 2020

I once hear d a de-cluttering expert person say that our things end up owning us! Still somehow I have more stuff than I need or can ever get to. Glad you are feeling better.

Hillbilly Princess June 26, 2020

Glad you are feeling better

Jinn July 01, 2020

I have so much stuff to go through but right now I want to be outside :-) Winter comes fast here .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.