Fly my darling in Tales from the Spinning Siren

  • June 14, 2020, 11:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Im so sad to write my beloved Starling has died today. At less then 18 months old, Starling should have lived to be several years. And yet here we are, with starling dead in the water and me without my spinning wheel.

Yes Starling is the name and the model of my spinning wheel! Her battery control module or the motor died tonight mid spin. I was fresh in the middle of a large braid of rainbow merino, right after finishing a 2 ply silk lace weight. And starling stopped working. I changed outlets and plugs to see if she started again but no. I cried tears. Real tears! Starling cost me 1200 dollars. I cried! Then i contacted the company. A small mom and pop ( husband and wife team) and they are sending me a new speed control module that i just plug into the motor. He ( the designer) believes that is the problem. I hope it fixes it. If not my darling starling will have to fly home to the designer and they will fix it. I dont expect it to be free. I hope i can afford it. The wheel is expensive to have died after a year. :(

For now, i put it away in her hard case and am working on my next blanket. Here is to hoping i find my starlings new control module in the mail box in a few days.


❤️vee June 14, 2020

oh no!! I hope it is an easy fix, or at least inexpensive if there is more work that needs to be done on it.

ChainedChrysalis ❤️vee ⋅ June 15, 2020

They are sending a replacement part! I guess its a known fail!

Jinn July 01, 2020

Did it get fixed ?

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ July 11, 2020

Yes. The replacement parts came in :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.