Too early for watermelon... in These titles mean nothing.

  • June 6, 2020, 10:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

.. at least at my grocery store. I bought one yesterday - a small round one, about the size of a large cannonball. I should have known better - watermelons should wait till July? or after my birthday? But I trusted my store - it tries hard - and thought if it has ‘em, they must be good.

This morning when I was up extremely early, I cut it in half and scooped one half into a bowl with some pretty decent cantaloupe, and it tasted pretty much like nothing. It was seedless of course and I’m not a huge fan of seedless watermelon in the first place. But we will see. Fruit is fruit and fruit is good.

Stores are struggling to get what they want and have to take what they can get - the assistant manager told me as he checked out my order. The sign at the peaches said ‘Soft peaches are in”. I bought some of them too. Not sure exactly HOW soft they are. The season is advancing and everything should be getting more naturally sweet. Let’s hope.

I had something else to tell you but can’t remember what.

I saw my old boss from my old job shopping. I struggled to remember her name, I was wearing my mask, I didn’t meet her directly, so I didn’t speak to her. She was a pretty good boss. This was the place that announced it was closing and then delayed it several times, but I think the place may be closed now.

Last night we took back the borrowed Honda Odyssey to Jim’s friend. They have rehabbed a little town church into a really nice home. I hadn’t seen it before. They’ve built a shed for his semi too, and have quite a bit of land with it. Lovely deck with both sunset and sunrise exposure. They have a little teddy bear dog named Benjy who has a nice personality. Jim was best man when they married, both their kids are grown and launched, and they have a nice life.

Jim’s got Joana’s tv working. You would not believe - the Bachelor might even be available. I watched part of a Night Court this morning and was totally enamored. John Astin played Harry Anderson’s dad who had been evicted from an institution and moved in with Harry.

Oh hell. Back to grocery shopping. Not only did I buy an unripe melon but I bought the wrong rice krispies treats. How can things like that happen? Repeatedly?

There is a slight explanation but you’ll have to ask for it.


Beret June 06, 2020

OK, I'll ask. Why and what?

I almost bought a small round seedless watermelon in the grocery this past week. I suspect ours are sourced from Florida at this time of the year. FL or GA?

thesunnyabyss June 06, 2020

I wonder if seeds in fruit is like a bone in meat, just adds more flavour and juiciness,

so how do things like that happen repeatedly, lol

Marg June 06, 2020

Ok I'm asking ...... :)

woman in the moon Marg ⋅ June 06, 2020

The wrong rice crispies treats explanation - our store was having a special offer - buy six Kellogg's products and get $1 off each item. Since our favorite cereal is K and we were low on it, and the store has a reasonable price on it without the dollar off, I decided to get three boxes, then look for other Kellogg products for the other three. Jim also likes rice crispy treats - they are good - I thought it would be simple to get them. Trouble was the Kelloggs' items were scattered all over the store and when I finally found what I wanted I just tossed three boxes into the cart without really looking at them. When I got home it turned out instead of simple plain ones which Jim likes, I'd gotten cookies and cream ones which I wasn't sure he would like or eat. Turns out he's being a sport and eating what I brought home without complaining. Soo.... I guess I lucked out in that department.

Marg woman in the moon ⋅ June 08, 2020

Yes!

noko June 06, 2020

Og geez, I am out of the loop. I didn't even know there were seedless watermelons! But then who would have thought there were cotton candy grapes? The rehabbed church sounds nice.

NorthernSeeker June 07, 2020

Fruit at our grocery stores is iffy. We can no longer get oranges in bags and the oranges often have soft spots. Vegetables are good right now. We take what we can get. Night Court is a good series...I loved John Laroquette. Good for Jim for being able to get the TV going.

Sugar Magnolia June 07, 2020

I grew up in a big watermelon farming area. We always look for the ones that are yellow on the bottom where they sat in the field. Should be very sweet. I haven’t bought one yet but now I’m jonesing for it.

Neogy Titwhistle June 08, 2020

30+ years ago, the last time I lived in a house, I threw a package of Black Diamond watermelon seeds under the rusty and dripping swamp cooler. I ended up with watermelon vines and gorgeous little sweet watermelons all over the front yard. It was a glorious summer!

Serin June 14, 2020

My parents have grocery attention-spans that fall off sharply past whatever level of concern they have. So they know they like certain brands of chips and will get them, and then complain that they got a flavour other than regular. Sympathies about the rice crispy treats.

As for the watermelon, they often get food that's underripe with the objective that the transit time and the ripening time will line up. And sometimes the outside will lie and suggest the inside is ripe. Which is why I'm going through a bag of utterly flavourless oranges right now.

Jinn June 27, 2020

I got one last week and it was awful . I threw it in the compost pile :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.