NaNoWriMo. in Open Diary.

  • May 27, 2020, 9:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can hear it already, “It is only Justin Timberlake Month!”

Exactly. It is never too early to brainstorm your next novel. I said brainstorming. I tried outlining a novel for NaNoWriMo once. It was an utter failure. I couldn’t finish, because it was TOO planned. Ended up lacking the spark, the creativity that I like to infuse.

If I were a girl, I would like my name to be Alice. Not sure when I decided this. Gosh, to have a vulva, wear pretty panties. None of this dangly stuff between my legs. Oh sure, I’d get the upstairs stuff. Maybe small boobies and a nice bum. I have been told, as a boy with a bum, that I have a nice bum. The gym can only do so much. GIVE ME A GOOD BUM, OR GIVE ME TACOS. Ahem.

If only we could decide our own names - but I’ll keep my tangents deliberate.

I have written this novel twice before. A fictionalized version of my life. It really works, because there is a lot of source material. Heck, I ran out of time with my for NaNoNovel. Oh, I hit workcount, but I simply didn’t “finish”. One year later, I picked up right where I left off. Years later, I did a redux of the concept. As always, my side-characters took center stage. As they should.

Whether I actually write a man on his deathbed, well, I will assume there is one. He has regrets in his life. Wishes he could go back and fix things.

And he can. I see his life restarting. And at key moments, Alice would appear. Sometimes before the event, sometimes after. Sometimes to change events, sometimes to simply comfort him. After all, some bad decisions NEED to happen in our lives to make us who we are.

We all have that “one novel” to write. So what that I have written it before. The previous two are quite different. Yet, the second is definitely better than the first. And while my mental capacity has lost a step in the years since, I think a third time might be the charm.

And if not. I can always try a fourth time.

“Rise, fall down, rise again.” - James Hetfield, Metallica, “Broken, Beat & Scarred.”


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.