So... A Bit of Trouble in Memories

  • May 24, 2020, 1:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday, my friend had a small birthday party at his house. (We will call him Batman, a nickname that started in 6th grade.) I was very excited since I had not seen any of my friends in a long time. Only a few people ended up showing, but we still had a blast. It was the most fun I have had in a long time. I did not even have to fake anything. It was that enjoyable.

When I showed up, it was a little awkward and we all had to take a bit of time getting used to talking again. The quarantine has made us all socially awkward. We watched a couple of movies until the rest of the group had gotten there, which was perfectly fine because we just ended up making fun of Disney movie plots.

Through these movies, we played with the smallest baby kitten I had ever seen. Definitely a newborn. He kept making the cutest little mewls, and my heart melted. I was in love with that adorable kitten.

Batman’s dad ordered pizza and we ate quite a bit while watching The Lion King, singing along like the dorks we are. Before we could finish, Batman’s dad came in and told us to all bring a chair outside and set it around the table. Confused, we did just that.

We ended up playing a game called Left, Right and Center. Batman’s dad made it more exciting since we were playing for money. $5 a game. We had a good laugh because, surprisingly, I ended up winning 3 of the 4 games we played. As small a game as it was, it got intense. My heart rate was insane, but in a good way.

Immediately after we finished cleaning that up, Batman’s family brought out the cake. Of course, the goal was to slam his face into the cake (a very difficult task I might add). It took several tries, but after a couple of tries, someone just picked up the cake while he was not looking and threw it onto his face. I had never really been a part of this birthday tradition before, but it was pretty hilarious.

The end of the cake brought what we thought would be presents. Batman got sat in a chair backwards so he could not see, and his dad ushered us into the garage. We saw a cooler, and all knew what was happening without explanation. Our small group ran to the cooler, picked out several water balloons each, and ran around the back to surprise Batman. He knew something was up, but was not expecting to be soaked.

Right after he was pelted, he started running at us. Stupidly, we ran straight back to the water balloons, leading him to our only weapon. As one can assume, war resulted. All of us, including his parents and family members, were drenched. We filled up many more balloons and played some games, soaking us more. Batman’s dad’s girlfriends was going insane with them. A huge threat to our already dripping clothes.

Batman was understandably weary as he was sat on the truck to actually open presents. We were out of water balloons, but that did not mean guard down. He opened gifts harm free. I had a stomach ache by then. Eating quite a bit and then running for your life are not the best combo.

This where things got a bit messy. We decided to go on a walk. It was nice out, and Batman’s parents were completely fine with it. I, however, was stupid enough to forget to turn the ringer on my phone on.

We went on our walk, loosing track of time. We were actually having a really good time. I am not sure her relation to Batman, but I met a really pretty girl. We spent most of the walk together. We happen to have a lot in common. When we realized it was starting to get dark, we were heading back. Batman’s dad called him, and when I saw the look on his face, I knew I was screwed. He looked at my pocket, and I pulled out my phone. Missed calls and texts from both parents. Mom was at the house and we were not.

We took the quickest way home we could, but it still took around 20 minutes. I was a mess. I knew both of my parents were pissed. I knew I messed up. Most of all, I knew they would not listen. So, we made it home. Batman’s dad let me know my mother was around the corner. i walked slowly and got in the car silently.

I will not have my phone back until Tuesday, which is not the worst punishment. I can deal with that. I am just sad that I did not get to share my day. I was actually excited to talk to them for once. Let them know that I was out doing things and being normal. Of course, any amount of real fun means some form of punishment. Especially my parents being as strict as they are.

The funny thing is, though, that I do not regret that the most. What I really am disappointed about is that I did not get any contact from the pretty girl I mentioned. She asked if I had a Snap when we were a block from the house so she could make sure I was okay. I do not have any social media, and I told her as much. As panicked as I was about being alone with my parents, I forgot to even offer my phone number.

I can barely believe it. A pretty girl asked for a form of my contact information. This completely new territory. I am really mad at myself. I really like her. I had only met her that day, and usually that would mean a lot of awkwardness, but we ended up having an awesome time.

Anyways, we are headed off to Nana’s house. I do not know how long we are staying, but I guess that ends this entry.


Positives:
Even though I do not have a way to contact her, I actually hit it off with a nice girl. That never happens. I am proud of myself for even having a normal interaction in general.


Last updated June 13, 2020


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.