I'm waiting... in These titles mean nothing.

  • May 24, 2020, 7:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

… for the daylight to maximize. I’m up early for the new me. It’s a few minutes before 6 am. I’ve been up long enough to write half a page in the blue notebook. To wash a few dishes. To make a pot of coffee. To stew.

I sat on the deck earlier, looking at the gray foggy sky behind the barn and the slow leafing walnut trees. We had a lovely rain yesterday and perhaps more tonight after a good (and warm) day. I rely on conversations for weather reports. I rarely pay attention to the prophets.

I’m in an incredibly strange mood. I’m aware of generations who’ve lived in this house. I’m aware of the present. Like the pregnant woman, I want to be a year older. That was a joke - from my youth = the only person who wants to be a year older is a pregnant woman. I questioned the truth of the statement then and I probably do now. I don’t really want to be a year older. I want .... what I always want....... which is what I don’t know.

I have a lot to write about. Some is in 750 words. Some is in the blue notebook. Some is in private notes. Most is still rattling around in my head. It’s like my photos. They exist whether they are here or not. Whether I take them or not. Life is full of moments. They string together in the great cosmic line fence that separates one life from another. Sometimes they are recorded. Sometimes not. Sometimes they are part of our memory, parts of who we are, parts of who we become.

And then?

What happens?

The answer?

Nothing.

And nothing’s cousin:

Something.

And both nothing and something’s cousin:

Everything.


IpsoFacto May 24, 2020

An incredible piece of writing here. Thank you for it.

gattaca May 24, 2020

I'm usually up at 4:30 - 5am. Never could sleep in!
It's wonderful in the Sonoran desert at this hour.

Purple Dawn May 24, 2020

Early mornings are the best :)

Beret May 24, 2020

Has your house been in the family since built?

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ May 24, 2020

Vaguely. It was the family home of my father's first cousins - probably first owners really - and my dad and his brother bought it from them in 1950.
Oldest part of the house predates 1900, last time any addition was made was in the 1920s. It has an approximately ten year old blue steel roof and last year's white vinyl siding - the Amish did a nice job - make it look nice(r) in my eyes anyway.

NorthernSeeker May 24, 2020

This is a beautiful description of a mood and a future you can't exactly describe. Of course I am reading it through my own personal lens and that changes from day to day. It makes me wonder how any of us can communicate anything to each other but you do write so well that many people do understand some of what you are feeling.

noko May 24, 2020

The slow leafing walnut trees at dawn after a rain sound so beautiful. Worth sticking around for I'd say.

Serin May 25, 2020

Dawn has been waking me before my alarm for a few weeks now. Right now, I don't welcome that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.