Wellwisher in Lyrics

  • May 19, 2020, 4:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just wrote this earlier at work during some down time, though the thought of wishing someone a long and unfulfilling life has been in my brain here and there for a while.

A life of inconvenience
Is what I wish upon you
Nothing particularly bad
Just not as good as you’re used to

Settling for a series of suitors
Arriving increasingly uglier
Making mates of yore measurably
Just that little bit lovelier

With all that said I hope you’re doing well
All things considered I wish you well
Well enough at least

A sinking sense of subversion
Nothing reaching depression
Merely a longing for the past
An ego reaching a concession

Letting in a line of lovers
Less satisfying over the years
Ferrying in a flock of friends
None of whom worthy to revere

With all that said I hope you’re doing well
All things considered I wish you well
Well enough at least

A minimal decline
In your enjoyment of life
Not enough to warrant treatment
It stops at feeling slightly defeated

A prayer that you will live
For many healthy long decades
Saturated in dissatisfaction
At the choices you’ve always made

With all that said I hope you’re doing well
All things considered I wish you well
With all that said I hope you’re doing well
All things considered I wish you well
Well enough at least


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.