suggestions, advice, whatever in A new start

  • May 16, 2020, 2:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The sale of our house fell through because it needed work. Quite a bit, I guess. I’ve come to the conclusion I have 3 options.

option 1: take it off the market temporarily to redo the roof and fix whatever we can (negative of that is that is not cheap and we don’t have much money. Every month we are here the more that gets sucked out.)

option 2: keep it listed but reduce it by quite a bit to help offset the work that needs done (negative is we may not get enough from selling it to do what we need to do.)

option 3: not necessarily reduce the price but include a credit for the work to be done. If this is the suggestion what should the credit be? It needs a roof sooner than later and has some dry rot.

I priced out what I knew or figured we would need at Home Depot online and it would be less than two grand, which we could handle if my husband can do it. It’s the labor that costs so much. My friend’s husband may be able to help him, just another project on his list. We can get some boards from them to take care of the dry rot. And if we are going to do stuff like that we can paint too. If I did option one when I relisted it I would add a couple grand to it. I mean we will have put in a lot of work if we do that. The plus side is my uncle can use his military discount to help out. He can also tell us how to do things, he is too busy with a flip property to help us too much though.

I want out of this house so bad so I gotta figure out what to do.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.