Seventh time around in Adventures in paradise

  • May 11, 2020, 9:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well I suppose I should mention that I became an uncle, yet again, for the seventh time today. My younger brother and his wife were expecting their devil-spawn - I mean newborn - sometime today, and sure enough my mum sent a picture through of my shirtless brother holding the newest kid in his arms. This is their 3rd now, after two boys. This time it’s a girl! So I have a new niece. I guess it’s still hot up in Mt. Isa. Mum of course is all clucky, saying she’s disappointed that she can’t see the new arrival until at least July, when the third and final stage of restrictions are lifted. Even with the limit of 500km allowed for outback travellers, the distance is much further to visit them and vice versa. My state’s restrictions open up further this Friday, when up to 10 people will be allowed in cafes/restaurants and outdoor pools. I have no idea how they are going to regulate that at my city’s man-made beach at Southbank nor the other lagoons in some of the northern cities. But anyway. Then from May 15th, it’s reviewed per month - mid-june 20 people will be allowed and gyms will be able to reopen, and then in July outdoor gatherings will be extended to 100 and nightclubs will operate, where hopefully we will be living in “The New Norm”. Hopefully until September when they are predicting mass-production of the vaccine will occur. And that’s incredibly rushed, just going off what I’ve heard.
And of course that’s only dependent on cases staying low. There are currently 18 known active cases in my state, which is truly incredible on the curve-flattening scale. But, we are expecting a second-wave, much like has been happening elsewhere in the world. I’m so worried about the UK and some states of the USA with their case numbers. USA is really living up to their “Land Of The Free” motto with all the protests I’ve been seeing. But we even had one in Melbourne on Mother’s Day (I think?), which when I heard about it didn’t surprise me at all given that city is full of hipsters who would do exactly that. I didn’t even really understand Boris’ address to the nation today.
But anyway, enough about CoVid. I think we’re all over it. But we can’t be complacent unfortunately. Stay safe everyone.

I went down to the river today and just sat there by myself for a while. Quite a few people out exercising with their dogs. One girl even had her cat on a leash which was SO cute. It was trying to escape from her haha. Thankfully none of the dogs noticed it.
I’m getting good at taking selfies. Hey, if this virus gets me in the end, I at least want updated photos in my photo-montage :P
For my ‘Song you want played at your funeral’ choice in the 30-day Song Challenge that I’ve been doing on Instagram, I went with “Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life” from Monty Python.

I am so tired I can hardly keep my eyes open today. It’s not like I did that much other than a lengthy walk around my area.

alt text


TL May 11, 2020

We're expecting a sequel also. You're in better spirits it would appear. Congrats on the niece! Now find a man and get pregnant and lock him down!

KissOfLife! TL ⋅ May 12, 2020

Well if only Kellen would text me back LOL.

DE_nobelle May 12, 2020

Interesting as it isn't hipsters at all protesting here, it's trumpers that are resentful that they can't get their haircuts. There's a major divide where a lot of the republican propaganda is doubting the seriousness of this, so those people think their haircuts are more important than "the flu" which this OBVIOUSLY is not but I guess if you believe whatever you want and think everythings a conspiracy you just downright don't believe the numbers that show the unbelievable spread here. I think it's really interesting that the US is starting to open up and it sounds like with very low numbers there, your government is taking it much slower. I'm in NJ which is a bit of a hot spot and our governor is holding the line but I don't know how much longer he can and I think it's gonna be a complete shit show. :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.