Day #idunnoilostcount in A Day in the Life of Me

  • May 2, 2020, 5:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So its 7pm at night and I have been banned to the bed....
Any of my regular readers who have been following me on FB have seen my days “adventures”.
I made my FIRST ever Rappie pie, an Acadian dish my dad used to make, HUGE, potatoe and meat pie, takes forever when done the “right” way, but i managed to cheat a bit and got “pre grated” potaoes, because i don’t have the antique juicer rig he used (apparently newer juicers do not do the same thing…).
A bestie of mine down home was making one as well today, so this morning via FB messenger, she walked me through step by step.
After having the chicken boiling on the stove all morning, pulling said chicken, and hubby working on mashing in the mix for me and getting it all in the pan and into the oven, we went outside for a bit of cooling as the whole thing had the apartment so humid the bedroom window AND bathroom mirror were fogged up. Out there for less then a minute, and it was like Dad knew we had done it, because right above us in the tree was a Cardinal singing his little heart out. He’s been in the neighborhood about 2 years now.
I named him Henry, cause red was my dad’s favorite colour and i swear every time i’ve been to his grave site, there is one there on the wires singing.
after it was all cooked and we both pigged out on two chunks each, because OMG IT CAME OUT SOOOO GOOD!! (all it was missing was some rabbit) I was in the kitchen, dishing up the leftover into containers for the freezer and fridge, when my bestie msg’d to say Dad would have been proud, and I lost it for a minute, and a had a mini breakdown.

So in between all that… I stripped the bed to wash the bedding, and in the process of remaking the bed.... I’ve tweaked something in my lower left back, and have hense been banned to the bed after attempting to soak out in the tub, and icing… now i am here with an A5-35 patch one and my left leg feels all kinds of hurting......
Hopefully tomorrow it will be better....


Bomb Shell May 04, 2020

Well done on the pie, I’m sure your dad would have been proud.

Canadian Lass Bomb Shell ⋅ May 04, 2020

I think he was, the cardinal showing up after it was in the oven was the start of my emotional rollercoaster lol

Babe In Toyland May 04, 2020

That pie sounds yummy!

Canadian Lass Babe In Toyland ⋅ May 04, 2020

I was stoaked!
So much better then the stuff we buy predone, even though it is made by an Acadian family, any time you mass produced something it's gonna be different than homemade.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.