Middle of the night.... in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 24, 2020, 5:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s 4:30 and I’m wide awake. This is the second time I’ve been up and about and resorting to the computer for solace. First time I went to YouTube and watched!! a podcast about The Sopranos. Apparently two of the actors - Michael Imperioli (Christopher) and someone else are doing an insiders conversation for each of the eighty-some episodes. This was their takes on the first episode - the pilot. It had some insights into the show, the actors, creator Chase and the careers of actors. I enjoyed it but don’t plan to watch any more.

Then I went back to bed and tried to sleep. I tried meditation. I have one meditation I remember - it’s about the senses. What can I hear, see, smell, touch, taste - right now. It can be circular. When you get done with one round you can go on to another. They did not work to put me to sleep. So here I am. Bright eyed and bushy tailed and it’s a lot earlier than I have to get up. Not that I have to get up at any time. I am free to sleep as much or as little as I want. Lucky me.

I found myself thinking of Bobby. I wonder if he thinks of me. Perhaps a survey is in order.

The Bobby Survey

  1. Are you still alive? (If not, please excuse the rest of the questions.)

  2. What are you doing?

  3. Who are you doing it with?

  4. Do you ever think of me?

  5. If so, does it please you to think of me?

I guess that’s it. I doubt very much if Bobby will show up to answer the questions. That’s ok. I’m over Bobby. Except sometimes in the middle of the night when I don’t have anything else to think about.

I made some tentative monthly resolutions earlier last night. I thought I would try them for a few days before the end of the month. If I like them, if I think they make me a better person, or a more happy one, I will extend them into May and see if I can hold them for a month. A month is a nice unit of time. Significant but not overwhelming.

  1. Stop playing solitaire on the computer. (I think it’s wearing my display out and I’m just wasting too much time. The other stuff I do on the computer is a waste of time too, but I’m just focusing on solitaire for now. )
  2. Walk up to Joana’s every morning soon after I get up. (It would be nice to check on her, to soften up my relationship with her. It would take some of the pressure off Jim. It would give me some much-needed exercise. )
  3. Write every day in my blue notebook.

I bought groceries today. Another $200 day. I wore my home-made sock mask - it’s quite comfortable but it must look awful because at the check out the store manager caught up to me and gave me two very nicely tailored cloth masks - reversible - blue print to beige print, elastic ear straps - he said they had plenty. I’m not sure if I’m embarrassed or grateful. Both, I guess. There were more other people in masks today than there were in the last few weeks, a lot of employees and maybe half the customers. Food still seemed in good supply - limits on toilet paper but otherwise you could get whatever you wanted.

Jim read somewhere that the shortages - toilet paper and others - have to do with out supply chains. There are two rivers of supply - private and institutional/commercial. Private is us, the people who buy stuff in small quantities in stores. Institutional/commercial is restaurants, schools and factories or big buildings. The large users have separate streams of same products, and now since we aren’t going to school, work, or out to eat, the amounts needed at home increase. It takes repackaging an rerouting to get the same number of eggs and toilet paper, etc. to people who are at home.

I read a restaurant in Cedar Rapids had bought a thousand pounds of rice and were repacking it in one pound bags to give to a food pantry. Very early on, in my own town, the car repair body shop had ordered a large number of plastic gloves - through their ordinary sources, and had given some to the hospital and had others available to anyone who wanted to stop and pick them up. They and other businesses including the car dealers had bought a bunch of gift certificates to the local restaurants and were giving them away. The restaurants are closed of course but they are having take out specials.

Anyway. I wonder how what the world will be like when this is over, if it’s ever over. Casual closeness, casual trips, casual anything - all might be over. We still have our calves. They are not ready to eat - someone needs to buy them and feed them and then sell them in 6 or 8 months. I would think by then we would be back to what passes for normal. We can hold them - we have pasture, but not enough, so we would have to feed them as well.

And now the packing plants are closing - maybe we will all be vegetarians. But please eat my beef first.

Yes the world might be better - different for sure - if we no longer ate meat or animal products. Would it be better if we all home schooled our children - for ever? Would it be better if we gave up casual touching - no hugs, huh? Would it be better if we stayed home except when we had to go somewhere? Would it be better if we didn’t work and the government just sent us checks? Would it be better if we all wore masks when we left the house? And washed out hands a dozen times a day?

Maybe. Maybe that’s our dystopia. Maybe it all blends together until we are dead and the planet is clean. The canals in Venice, the air on Los Angeles, sparkling clear. Even in such a short time. Imagine......


Just Annie April 24, 2020

I was up much too early, too. I even tried to sing the Song That Never Ends to put myself back to sleep, but that failed. I'll be dragging by this afternoon, but with a grocery delivery scheduled, I am not likely to get a nap.

Charlie, Ella, and I were talking yesterday that we were probably the last of the people to visit Disney when it was "The Most Magical Place On Earth" and we couldn't imagine how different it will be when it reopens. If it reopens.

Marg April 24, 2020

God I hope that’s not our future - I think mentally most of us would go right downhill! I think it will be a more subdued, caring version of what we used to have with more appreciation and realisation that everything we do affects each other and the planet we live on. Well - I can dream! :)

Sugar Magnolia April 24, 2020

I don't even pretend to go to bed before 3 or 4 am and am usually up by 8. I normally try to nap during the daily Trump Clown Show. My small tribe are huggers. I can't imagine not hugging them again.

Purple Dawn April 24, 2020

Could you hold back your steer calves and finish them yourselves? Here we can take them to a slaughterhouse and have them inspected and then sell the meat ourselves. We haven't done it other than the occasional one for our own consumption and we usually just grass finish them but you have more access to grain :)

woman in the moon Purple Dawn ⋅ April 24, 2020

We've always thought of doing that, but we always need the money before they would get big enough. Maybe though this is the time to do it. We do have more grain than pasture. We have pasture and we rent some too but it's just enough for our breeding herd.
Farming is always a gamble = farmers don't have to go to Las Vegas - but right now it's even more so.
Jim's been talking to his banker. Maybe this is the time to do something like that.

Purple Dawn woman in the moon ⋅ April 25, 2020

We have a financial company here called Farm Credit, they are trying to give loans to farms in as much that they would prob give me about a million to raise cattle....um, no, I am not THAT trusting !

woman in the moon Purple Dawn ⋅ April 25, 2020

Remember Springsteen's 'debts no honest man can pay'?

Purple Dawn woman in the moon ⋅ April 25, 2020

Wow, no, I had never heard that song before. I just looked it up and read the lyrics.

"Now judge I had debts no honest man could pay
The bank was holdin' my mortgage and they were gonna take my house away
Now I ain't sayin' that makes me an innocent man
But it was more 'n all this that put that gun in my hand"

Thanks for sharing it with me :)

noko April 24, 2020

There is something poetic about this post. I am not sure how to describe it, but it is there underneath, a rhythm.

Jinn April 25, 2020

Some nights I do not sleep except for an hour or two. This is one of them. I realized while I was laying in bed trying to sleep that i was having an anxiety attack . I got up and took a Benadryl and it’s taking the panicky feelings away but I still am not sleepy . I know this chronic insomnia is not healthy . My mind will not shut off and it’s annoying. The bad weather ; gloom and storms that we have had for days doesn’t help ; although they are just annoying.
I wonder too what the world will be like going forward . I do not know if we can ever go back to feeling safe as we did before. I miss my family far away and I miss seeing my friends. I have never been a very social person but my house feels like a prison these days. I could go out but I think I have caged bird syndrome ; you know how you open a cage door, but the bird is so accustomed to being a captive that it will not even try to escape ? That is me. I think almost every day that I will go somewhere and shop ; or just drive . Then the moment arrives and I do not go . Not because I am afraid , I just lack the drive to actually do it . Then I am disgusted with myself and I feel trapped. The truth is the only one shutting me in is me . :-( I know I have to push myself more . Physically and emotionally but I am not there yet .

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ April 25, 2020

I understand a lot of what you've said. I worry for myself and I worry for others. I will not add you to my list and please don't add me. My life is not that bad... but still...

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ April 25, 2020

Yes. Mine is not either. You are right. Focus on the good :-)

Neogy Titwhistle April 25, 2020

I guess that is what makes life interesting, the not knowing what comes next part. But I am curious!

NorthernSeeker April 25, 2020

I woke up in the middle of the night on Thursday and it was absolutely quiet...not a dog barking, or a siren, or the sound of people calling out to each other as they walked home. It was nice. There weren't many lights on in the apartment towers. I think people are going to bed and getting more sleep. That's a good thing.

Serin April 28, 2020

Back in February, in church, I was again lamenting that SARS had killed the friendly handshake. I'm not sure it'll come back after this, and that makes me sad. But I think I will try to train myself to the namaste. It feels more dignified than an elbow bump.

The walk is probably a good thing for you.

A bunch of the wholesalers here have opened up more-retail offerings to move stock and because there's a lot of online ordering to support it, I think it'll stay when things are more stable.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.