The Interview... in These Foolish Things

  • April 23, 2020, 12:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…or, hm. These guys need to get their shit together.

After I told you guys about my sleuthing in the last entry, I sleuthed/stalked the hiring manager even more only to find out that she’s really not that young - she’s 43. But after talking with her, I caught juuuust a taste of her potential, possibly bitchy personality. Will still have to figure that one out if this goes any further.

So yeah, I was told it was going to be a Zoom interview with several participants and then later the evening before the interview, the recruiter told me that actually it was going to be a phone interview. I still got my act together regardless, even applying makeup featuring a bright red lip (which clearly means business!) just in case.

The (almost) hilarious thing about yesterday was that I had a day that was sort of packed full of stuff! I did part of one workout and I had a one-on-one video pilates workout scheduled with my [former-ish] company’s CEO’s sister (set up by CEO herself), and then I had a webinar before the interview.

Wouldn’t you KNOW that former-Boss sent me a text asking me if he could “come over sometime in the next two hours” to pick up the boxes of samples that I had been having sent to my apartment for review since we weren’t allowed to go to the office. Like, REALLY??? Of all the shitty timing!

And then I thought, wait a minute, he’s not my fucking BOSS anymore! So I told him NO. I did fib and told him that I was taking supplies to my parents because fuck him. It’s none of his goddamn businesses. We settled on Monday for him to come over to pick up the goods.

Finally, 2:00 rolled around and I got the phone call from…let’s call her Lucy. We had pleasantries and of course, talked about covid and the fact that the company is an essential business with factory still running and the office still open to employees who needed to get some things at the office (though the corporate employees were working from home and just coming in here and there).

It would have been a really decent interview - it went on for exactly an hour - if it weren’t for the fact that Lucy informed me that she’s not looking for someone with TEXTILES experience, as the recruiter had specifically been looking for that (!!!) but she wants someone who can work on developing a whole other range of product for them - skincare and household personal supplies AND pet products (which is what actually caught Lucy’s eye - not the rest of my background!).

So, the thing is, I feel like I did a good job with the interview (minus one tiny thing I got tongue tied about, no biggie), I think I’d have to think long and hard about it if we move forward.

And truly, at the end of our conversation, Lucy said a couple of things that made me go…hmmm....biiiiittttccch. Stuff about how she doesn’t want to “hold my hand” on certain things. Of course you don’t. I could do YOUR job. And she actually CUT ME OFF when I was talking with her about the potential for the company to roll out protective gear (masks, cover-up garments, etc.)

So. That’s how it went. I just now got off the phone with the recruiter and told her about the part where she’s recruiting for the wrong product category - ha! She was kinda pissed with the company about that. Looks like these folks seriously have their wires crossed. Not a great sign, but also a sign that they need HELP and could potentially get it from me.

Will advise as I know more…
GS


Complicated Disaster April 23, 2020

I hope it works out the way that's best for you! xx

Jinn April 23, 2020

Whew! I don’t know if I would want to work for that lady ...

Complicated Disaster April 23, 2020

I wonder if she was intimidated by you? xx

Deleted user April 23, 2020

Red flags 😬

bobbi01 April 23, 2020

Yuck. Still from your last entry it sounds like she won't be there for long.

plushcreep April 23, 2020

I like your line about providing them with the help they need.

Marg April 23, 2020

That’s not a great first impression ......

pandora April 24, 2020

Is she the former manager of the woman who is liking articles about hating your manager on LinkedIn? She does sound a little... harsh. And good for you for setting boundaries with your ex-boss! I am such a people pleaser but things like that can cause unnecessary stress - why do I care if people think I'm nice?!?!

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ April 24, 2020

I think so...that's what I've sort of figured out. And it's funny, she (Lucy) "liked" one of my posts on LinkedIn this morning.

I get it - I'm a people pleaser too. Had I not been laid off, I would have probably figured out a way to make it happen, but...fuck it. You know?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.