Tomorrow's Interview in These Foolish Things

  • April 21, 2020, 9:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So…tomorrow’s interview. It’s a Zoom interview, but now the headhunter tells me it’s just going to be by phone? I don’t really understand. I guess time will tell. I will be dressed and somewhat coiffed just in case.

I will also say this: leave me with a few crumbs of information and I’ll super sleuth the shit out of it. Here’s what I think I know about the job opening:

  • While the position sounds super interesting and I know I’d rock it, I’d be reporting to the Director of Product Development (which is what I do right now - unfortunately, my former company refused to give me that title, yet I reported directly to an EVP. Semantics, sure, but titles really do mean something).

  • Still imagine/know that the salary is nowhere near my most recent salary (back before Covid, when I had a job)

  • I looked up the hiring manager (Director) on LinkedIn and she has only been in position with the company since January. Her previous three or four jobs only lasted a few months each. I looked her up on Facebook too. Seems young and immature.

  • I looked up the person who I believe I’d be replacing on LinkedIn as well and she seems to be extremely disgruntled as of late, “liking” posts that are all about how people don’t quit their jobs, they quit their managers, and how leadership should be supportive, etc.

Just that little bit makes me believe that there’s some drama going on in that company. I don’t know, y’all. But I have to at least give this interview a shot. If nothing else but for practice when something AMAZING comes about. What have I got to lose but time? I have plenty of that right now.

Nothing like good old fashioned internet stalking to bring you back down to reality, hm?

Until tomorrow,
GS


Satine April 21, 2020

Yeah you will nail it! Some places use zoom for just calls, I think people are burnt out on videoconferencing so maybe that’s it. Awesome research, try and keep an open mind and know you’ll wow them! ❤️

Complicated Disaster April 22, 2020

Never turn down an interview! You can always turn down the job later! Good luck! Xx

Marg April 22, 2020

How did we ever manage when we knew nothing about anything in the good ol’ days!

plushcreep April 23, 2020

Reading between the lines is impossible in these situations. Could be personal conflict, maybe they're foreclosing on their house, perhaps they overcooked their steak the night before. Who knows. GOOD LUCK regardless!

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ April 23, 2020

Very true, and thank you!

bobbi01 April 23, 2020

Some employers here are asking for access to our social media. Your entry is a timely reminder for me to be careful about what I like and what I post.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.