Today Felt Slightly Better in These Foolish Things

  • April 20, 2020, 10:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This morning I got up early and did my workout, took the dog for a nice early walk, came back in and finished sending my tax info to my accountant and told him that I got laid off, filled out a couple of job applications on LinkedIn, and then headed out on another walk to meet [Athena] for a socially distanced lunch date at a little taco shop. We sat out on the curb in back of the restaurant and talked and talked about this crazy world we’re living in right now.

So good to see [Athena], the weather was lovely and on my way out I’d gotten a phone call from the headhunter for the job I interviewed for a couple of weeks ago. She said that the company wants to set up a video interview.

Soooooo….Wednesday afternoon it is! As I understand it, I’ll be meeting with several different people for more than a couple of hours.

And the thing about this company is that it’s SUCH a timely prospect! The company is an essential business and their mission is all about sustainability, antibacterial, antimicrobial, anti-viral products, etc. etc. It’s as if this was placed right in front of me to do something amazing RIGHT NOW.

I envision my first project creating PPE in various forms: masks, cover-up materials, protective gear of all types…

Although, I have the feeling that it’s not going to pay nearly as much as what I was making previously. STILL. It’s a job - something that I do not have right now.

And I know I’m jumping the gun by even writing this down, but I have to think positively. I’m extremely qualified for this job - actually a little overqualified, but again, beggars can’t be choosers right now.

My vision is as follows: I interview with the company, they like me but take a couple of weeks to consider me, job offer, negotiations, then PREVIOUS company that just “temporarily” laid me off asks me to come back. I consider both proposals and weigh the pros and cons and decide from there.

Oh! Even better scenario: interview, offer, negotiations, PREVIOUS company says they don’t want me back and are laying me off WITH a severance package. THEN I tell new company yes.

There. I’m putting it all out there to the universe in writing. Let’s see what the future holds…

Did anybody catch the Luck Reunion (Willie Nelson early birthday and 4/20) on Twitch tonight? It’s a huge benefit to help the Last Prisoner Project - who are people incarcerated for marijuana infractions. In fact, it’s still going on right now! It’s been going on since 4:20 CST (so over five hours now!) and Willie and Luka have been having all kinds of musical guests and chefs with munchie recipes on and everyone is completely HIGH. I am loving it!! OMG. Now they are showing Willie Nelson rolling papers - and people rolling joints! Hilarious!

Okay, I need to get going! Didn’t realize it is nearly bedtime! Just wanted to come on and send a little bit of positive thinking out into the universe.

Love you and missed you,
GS


Sugar Magnolia April 20, 2020

I hope everything works out exactly the way you want.

The Thirsty Oriental April 20, 2020

Good luck with the job situation!

Marg April 20, 2020

That’s great there’s a good prospect on the horizon - I hope the best scenario works out!

Fred April 20, 2020

You will land in your feet! Best of luck! (In the meantime apply for unemployment in case it takes longer than expected — also, restaurants are still open your way??? All sounds surprisingly normal!)

Ginger Snap Fred ⋅ April 21, 2020

Landing on feet now will look different than landing on feet pre-covid.

Not normal at all. Many/most restaurants closed. Some are open for take out and drive through.

And, of course I filed for unemployment the moment the words “layoff” were uttered by the HR person.

Jinn April 21, 2020

My wish is that this works out exactly as you want it to !

Deleted user April 21, 2020

Glad you had a good day, sounds like you did!

Complicated Disaster April 21, 2020

Ohhhhhh. Fingers firmly crossed for you! Xxx

bobbi01 April 21, 2020

Come on universe! Glad you caught up with Athena, that must've been good for both your souls.

Soliloquy April 21, 2020

Fingers crossed for you!

Satine April 21, 2020

This sounds great. Is Martini loving having you home more know? Knock em dead tomorrow!

plushcreep April 23, 2020

How timely indeed! I hope either of your scenarios comes to fruition!

pandora April 24, 2020

I hope you get your best case scenario. And that show sounds hilarious!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.