Why I don't care about the president... in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 19, 2020, 11:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

and his daily news conferences.

I don’t have tv and my internet is not very good, so I haven’t seen any of the President’s news conferences. I have seen a few clips on the computer and I read about them a little, but not much. So correct me.. or help me, as you see fit, please.

Apparently he is spending several hours a day - Saturday included, not sure about Sunday - holding press briefings at the White House, discussing the corona virus and its affects on the country, plus whatever else comes up.

I get a daily newspaper which has pretty good accounts of what’s going on and I have something called - god can’t remember its name - hell to get old - and I look at what Edge browser, twitter and facebook offer me as vital news.

I don’t care a lot about the news, about the future, about what is going on in the world. I’m pretty much a here and now person and whatever is at my fingertips, in my line of sight is what I pay attention to. I’m not proud of that, but it’s the way I am and I have no desire to improve myself in much of any way.

I’m eating potato chips - cheddar and sour cream flavored from Lays - with my Diet Coke. Diet Coke was cheaper at the store this week than Diet Pepsi. It’s a little less sweet and less sour and has fewer bubbles than Pepsi but by the time I work through the case it will have become my cola standard.

I went to the store Thursday morning with my list and Joana’s list and I ended up with a cart piled extremely high and a long register slip totaling $213. I’ve never spent that much money at a grocery store before - or if I did I can’t remember. I got a lot of stuff though. I made a list in 750 words. If anyone wants to see it, I can copy it over here. I will not retype it.

Someone mentioned making a food inventory - daily I think it was - though weekly would work ok too. If I get even more bored I might try that. I have a lot of food on hand, and the discipline of limited grocery trips requires a bit more organization - as in A LIST!! My list for next Thursday already has chili seasoning (I thought I had some on hand and wanted to make some but I don’t seem to have any. sob sob), coffee filters ( I saw an easy method for making masks out of socks and coffee filters on FB. I want to get Jim to do it. Yeah, wish me luck.), beer, and laundry detergent.

Jim and Joana got together and decided a meal at 5:30 pm might work out, so I’ve been coming up with a cooked entrée at that time for about a week now. Today is scalloped potatoes and ham. She is taking care of herself maybe? more. She thinks she may have gained some of her lost weight back. Tomorrow she goes to the local hospital for a scan. She goes by herself for that. If Jim can make her a sock mask..... But I think the hospital will provide her with one. Then a week from tomorrow she goes to the city for a visit with the oncologist who will have the results of tomorrow’s scan. She may get more chemo. Probably.

Cancer is a beyond difficult thing and the virus pandemic is not helping. We have had two deaths in our county. I don’t know anyone personally who has had the disease. The grocery store is well stocked. I stay home and wash my hands.

This morning though I was up early and saw the approaching sun’s hints in the eastern sky. I put on my purple coat, purple coat and my good from last summer’s flip flops and went out on the road to watch the sun rise. Gracie went with me but she didn’t want to walk very far. Gracie is boss. BOSS, I say. We wandered back and forth on the first part of the road and the driveway and eventually the sun came up.

Sunrise today was special because it marks 50 years since son John came into the world.

John is a good 50 year old kid. I’m grateful for his existence and proud of his life. Later today, Jim and I plan to call him and SING!!!!! I’m sure he will be happy.

=========================================================

List of topics I’m not writing about but could:

  • Garnet Hill catalogs. Do any of you get them? They started coming here when I was doing the mail reporting - beg and I’ll tell you about it, it’s been long enough that the confidentiality aspect has probably worn off. I’ve never ordered anything from them but I really, really like their stuff. It’s too pricey for me, though I could order something once in a while if I wanted to I suppose. It’s women’s clothes mainly, they carry Eileen Fisher and a bunch of their own stuff, and bed linens and rugs and occasional lamps, beds, stuff. It’s all beautiful and tasteful and kind of interesting. I think of calling them and telling them to stop sending catalogs, but the stuff is so nice....

  • I seem to be out of things to say. How disappointing. Anyway. Have a good day everyone. Be good, stay healthy. Don’t get too fat. Say hi to the next dog you see for me.


ConnieK April 19, 2020

Happy birthday to John! I'm surprised they're still doing chemo but I guess cancer stops for no one. Good of you to make sure she eats. I don't listen to Trump's propaganda.

woman in the moon ConnieK ⋅ April 19, 2020

Fair amount of irony in the medical business due to the pandemic. Quite a few medical people are being laid off - cut backs, etc. We don't have large numbers of coronoavirus - thank God - but they are keeping people away as much as possible. I got a call to cancel a scheduled blood pressure check appointment.
Trump is such a phenomenon. I hate him of course, but he's like a snake, there's a fascination and a curiosity... what will he say or do next? How will he slither? Who does he poison next?

ConnieK woman in the moon ⋅ April 19, 2020

Yes, he is a snake, but I do not see any finesse in him. I see him as a spoiled schoolyard bully who needs a good spanking.

Deleted user April 19, 2020

Your son was born a few months before me. :)

I'd like to see your 750 words please!

If the sock masks don't work or don't get done, here's an easy no sew one with one of those blue paper disposable shop towels. Do you have those around? The man who invented (?) the N95 mask recommends shop towels for homemade masks, because they are pressed, not woven. Like coffee filters!
https://youtu.be/mai-UqdNRi8

We had a huge grocery bill last time too, but almost two weeks later, we are still going.

Are things budding, blooming and breeding around the farm?

woman in the moon Deleted user ⋅ April 19, 2020

We have new calves... and last years' are still sticking around due to no place to sell them. The farmer is having fertilizer put on and is hauling his own (the yearlings') too. It's been a dry spring so far - which is good. Recent years have been solid rain and while rain is needed and good, you can't get anything done if there is too much rain. The old saying 'make hay while the sun shines' is predicated on periods of sunshine.
Things look a little optimistic, maybe. Prices are bad, farming hasn't been much fun the last few years.

thesunnyabyss April 19, 2020

Happy Birthday to John!!!

it's probably smarter not to watch the news on this, especially his news, lol,

enjoy your day!!!

NorthernSeeker April 19, 2020

When I compare the taste of coke and pepsi I like the taste of pepsi more but I always prefer to drink coke. Here and now is a good place to be. Thinking about your potato chips is making me salivate. I petted a cat on the way home from the beach yesterday...no dogs running around. Your dinner sounds really good. I'm glad that Joana is doing better (somewhat better). It would be great if she gained some weight.

Lady of the Bann April 19, 2020

I am like you over TV. I don't watch it.so I miss a lot of news but from what I have seen, Trump is very rude to reporters so I wonder why they keep going. It's not like he has anything believable to say and having them crawling for his crumbs is just pandering to his ego. And there's me, never have anything political to say.

Just Annie April 19, 2020

Happy Birthday to John!

I can't stand to watch Trump, so I don't. Our governor and head of our state department of health give daily news conferences. I watch/read about those.

Colby says hello to you, too. He came to visit. He had a snack and some loving, but it was a short visit. He wanted just to check in, I guess. He came without the girls, who wanted to know why he got to come over to play and they didn't! I reminded them that they came yesterday, so today was his turn.

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ April 19, 2020

I'm glad Colby gets his turn. And glad to have his cold nosed greeting too.

Beret April 19, 2020

I do not watch his "press briefings." They are really campaign events. He has figured out he can hold one of his mega pat me on the back events and his core followers can still see him. Think about it. Pence is supposed to be running the coronavirus task force and he gets very little air time. I do get Garnet Hill catalogs. I have ordered sheets from them. We have not done an actual grocery shop since March 31st. I planned for 3 weeks. It takes a lot of work to plan like that. Our bill for 3 weeks was around $369. Which sounds huge but not really when considering how much it works out per week. We will do another huge shop this week. My careful planning worked and we have been eating well.

noko April 19, 2020

The sunrise is coming pretty early these days. I go to bed early and get up early. My first big shop when I got a ride to the grocery after lockdown was very expensive for me but it is actually how much I used to spend going two to three times a week on the bus. Now I go once a week and am ordering delivery once every 10 days. I give a big tip and am grateful I can do that. I read or hear if the President says something noteworthy but that is it. I sure hope we are reaching the end of being forced to pay attention to him.

Jinn April 21, 2020 (edited April 21, 2020)

Edited

I do watch his briefings; not because I think he is saying much worthwhile but because he is so outrageous that it entertains me :-) He is flagrantly dishonest and obnoxious . I get peeved when he dismisses Dr. Fauci’s opinions and Fauci has not been at the last three sessions. Trump clearly resents the fact that the public has more faith in Fauci than him. Fauci refuses to parrot Trump’s false information and opinions , so he has fallen into disfavor with Trump . Dr. Birx is a kiss ass and she seems to now be the main medical person on his so called “ team” . I am certain she has been instructed as to what she is to say . Jared Kushner , his useless SIL , was at one session and the public viewed him with such displeasure that he has not been invited back. Every day Trump loses it with some or multiple reporters . I cringe for them but it’s become a regular thing and it’s almost comical . Every briefing one or more will bait him ; exposing his absurd boasting and the inadequate way he has handled the pandemic from the onset. They fact check him practically before each session is over and he does not cope well at having the facts revealed . It does not seem to matter to his followers what he does, they remain brainwashed to reality . Now that the economy has crashed he appears to want to deal with the virus by using “ herd immunity “ and let people survive as best they can ( or not ) . He has been Crystal clear that he wants the states to open back up to try to salvage the economy . Georgia , Tennessee, and South Carolina are soon , so I will be interested in how it goes in those states. I am interested in the future infection rates in the states where there have been big protests to be “ liberated “ , as incited by him. My state, Illinois , was one of them. :-( . I understand our economy and people are in desperate circumstances but the thought of trying to go back out to work or frequent businesses is unsettling if you value your life or the lives of your family or friends .
Finally it’s heading toward Spring here . I am getting anxious to be outside and garden. This house is starting to feel like a too comfortable prison :-( I read that seeds of anything are almost impossible to get . People must plan on having to raise their own food this year. Sheesh !
We have never spent so much money on groceries . The prices have increased since Quarantine and it seems very important to keep a good amount of stuff on hand these days . I need to keep an inventory . We finally found TP again and luckily never ran out . I tended to overbuy toilet paper before the virus appeared and had more on hand than I knew .
I suppose food shortages will be our next challenge as I am hearing of meat plants having to close and farmers wasting crops in the fields for a multitude of reasons :-( Food shortages will drive people over the brink I think .
I drink regular coke. I know it’s so addictive but I do it anyway :-) I tell myself it’s better than drinking too much alcohol. :-)

Serin April 23, 2020

Happy Birthday to John! :)

People tell me I'm crazy when I say Pepsi is sweeter tasting. I'm glad you taste the difference too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.