A Short Term Fix For A Long Term Problem in Just Moments

  • April 16, 2020, 11:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

~The state of the world is kind of a mess. Since we’ve been neck deep in the COVID-19 pandemic for a while now, it’s strange how this new “normal” is becoming what is normal. Today the President of the United States announced that there is a three phase plan to reopen the states. That just seems so strange to me. I know we’ve only been locked down for about a month but it just doesn’t seem like we can ever go back to the way things used to be. I mean I miss watching sports and going to concerts but will things ever really go back to the way they were?
~For those of us who are single like myself, the safer at home orders most of the states have are tough. I’m lucky enough to be considered essential. Both the company that I work for as well as my profession itself are deemed essential. It’s a reason to get out of my home each day and interact with others. If I couldn’t go to work, I wouldn’t see anyone. Any psychologist will tell you that’s not healthy. I already struggle with depression from time to time and I have noticed that because of the current situation it’s worse than it normally is, but I expected that. I do truly believe that if we keep the safer in home orders for much longer there will be a large rise in suicides and attempts. Can’t say I haven’t thought about it myself, but it’s just a thought. No need to worry about anything beyond that. I do miss my family as I’m trying to follow the order but it’s hard.
~Another things I want to comment on is the preconceived notion of what an essential worker is. Many people just this is someone in the healthcare industry such as nurses or doctors or perhaps people who work in retail at grocery stores or Walmart. Or delivery drivers for Amazon. But newsflash there are a lot of others in the this world that are considered essential even in a pandemic. I work in manufacturing. We supply tools for the construction industry. Without us working all you people at home with bored husbands wouldn’t have anything to keep him busy with. Now I don’t work on the production floor, but this week I’ve spent two full days out there making and checking parts for shipment. Let me tell you it’s not the most glamorous or fun thing I’ve ever done but at the end of the day, if we don’t make parts we can’t ship them to our customers, if we can’t ship to our customers we can’t pay our employees. It’s one big circle that needs everyone contributing in order to protect jobs and incomes. So next time you want to bash someone for being essential just think about why that business is trying to stay open.
~Sorry about that. Just thought that it should be said. I hope everyone is staying safe out there. I know the world leaders are doing the best they can to keep the majority of people safe and it’s up to all of us to do our part to stop the spread of the disease. And if you are feeling like no one cares just know that someone does. I’ve been there and luckily I stopped myself before I got to the point of no return. This will end. This will get better. <3


Deleted user April 16, 2020

go make some toilet paper cuz that's all I need right now

Always Laughing April 17, 2020

It is hard being single during this. I am forced to be alone, it's no longer a choice. Stay safe

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.