In Brief. in These Foolish Things

  • April 14, 2020, 6:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m trying my best to keep a stiff upper lip about being laid off. I mean, we’ve all seen the writing on the wall and I’ve talked about it soooooo many times here in PB, but honestly, in the midst of this crisis, it’s the ultimate slap to do a layoff when you know that hiring is frozen for most industries for…who knows how long? How is the economy even going to START to recover in the next 18 months? And the thing is, the company is an “essential business” - the factory still cranks stuff out and I had several projects in the hopper that were ADDING REVENUE at the time! Literally saw an order come through 10 minutes before the phone call.

So yeah, I got the call first thing on Thursday morning and I’ve sort of been in a daze until now. It was presented as a “temporary lay-off” - not even a furlough, where I’d keep my benefits or have the option to take vacation time. This is a…you’re out of here until we re-evaluate. Yes, I get to keep my medical insurance, but I have to PAY for the difference until June 5th, when they’ll either truly lay me off or - something. And let’s not even think about any kind of severance package. Because of course not. These are “unprecedented times”.

The situation is going to be monitored from week to week.

SIGH.

I know I sound bitter, and I am. I’m also frustrated because I should have left a long time ago but didn’t for two reasons: (1) renewed passion that came about as a result of The Line that I Created, and (2) my injury last year.

Still, two things had happened in recent months: (1) the passion was dying for various reasons, and (2) I have recovered for the most part and feel healthy again.

Let’s just hope I don’t get the Rona during this time!!!

It’s time to get reaaaaaal creative.
GS


Complicated Disaster April 14, 2020

<3 xx

Whiskie April 14, 2020

Oh nooos

pandora April 14, 2020

I would be bitter too. I'm really sorry that this happened.

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ April 14, 2020

Thank you. It's pretty ugly.

Florentine April 14, 2020

To be honest, I don’t think this company has ever done a good job at treating you like the asset you are. I know everything is so up in the air and it’s hard to know what the next steps are, or when they’ll even come. But I truly hope that WHEN you land back on your feet, it’s with a company that’s a great fit.

Ginger Snap Florentine ⋅ April 14, 2020

No, you're right. They've never treated me as an asset at all. I do need a good fit - a GREAT fit!

hot-lips April 14, 2020

Sorry to hear about your job, it's a very uncertain time for a lot of people. We have a high turnover of freelancers working for us (in TV production), and we had to let several go because the productions had been cancelled. A couple were junior members of staff and I feel for them. Hopefully this is an opportunity to reevaluate what you want to do and find the dream job. :)

Ginger Snap hot-lips ⋅ April 14, 2020

Right? And I understand having to let people go if there's NO WORK for them to do - but I was rocking and rolling. I had several projects that I was right in the middle of! I just can't bear the thought of someone else putting their grubby hands all over MY WORK (but of course, that's the control freak in me). Sigh.

plushcreep April 14, 2020

You have every right to be bitter. This corporate decision makes little sense to me.

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ April 14, 2020

Thanks. It's just a jerky move on their part.

bobbi01 April 14, 2020

Companies are really showing their true colours throughout this crisis. I guess the silver lining is they have pushed you into something you have been pondering for ages. Not saying it doesn't suck though!

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ April 14, 2020

Yep. True colors indeed.

Athena April 14, 2020

It's totally normal to feel upset about losing your job.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ April 14, 2020

I know.

Satine April 14, 2020

This is BS, you’ve done an awesome job and your work will only bolster someone else’s bottom line who’s not worked as hard and produced less. That being said you’ll get something great and hopefully have a nice break in the meantime. Thinking of you and glad you’re staying better. Are you okay on expenses for a while... I hope?

Marg April 15, 2020

They might have actually done you a favour in the long run because they never seemed to appreciate you but right now it totally sucks! Their loss.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.