Schadenfreudian Slip in Things That Aren't Mine But That I Have Things To Say About

  • March 25, 2014, 7:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, this is... well, hmm. Let me start by saying that I am not an expert where proper grammar usage is concerned. I generally write like I talk, and like most people I talk in a way that gets the job done rather than conforms to all of the various MLA guidelines. So in this sense, I don't have a lot of room to throw stones. Also, I don't intend for this book to consist mostly of things I'm poking fun at; indeed, the thing I am posting this time isn't something I'm rolling my eyes at, but am mildly awestruck by the response. It's an old article from the 90's by The Straight Dope, penned by nearly-know-it-all Cecil Adams, whose life story I should learn some day, provided it's not too depressing, but I digress.

Anyway, someone wrote to him about an error they'd found in their local newspaper, and shared with him the chastising letter they'd sent the editor. Cecil's response made me laugh, so I'm sharing it with you. I think it provides a pretty good illustration of the finger-pointing axiom I butchered in my previous entry. Enjoy! Or not. Your call, really.

http://www.straightdope.com/columns/read/1123/is-acting-strangely-grammatically-incorrect

[Next entry will likely be something more interesting than this.]


ElvenAssassin March 25, 2014

That was funny. :)

Honor March 26, 2014

This is why people grow up to be editors, I guess!

Jigger March 26, 2014

Oh language, you so cray.

TellTaleHeart March 26, 2014

Haha, that is great!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.