Getting a Bit Real? in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 10, 2020, 12:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

If the world had not gone “tilt” I would be sitting in a warm little house looking out the full-length picture windows at a small sand dune and the very scenic Pacific Ocean. The tides are high out there now so I probably would be walking later than I prefer down to milepost 37B along a mostly empty clean beach looking for bald eagles and brown pelicans.

Naturally social distancing.

Instead I am home alone with the cats who are crashed out in the early morning sun streaming through the almost full-length windows in my bedroom that looks out on not quite yet blooming rhododendrons, a gorgeous Kwanzan Cherry tree in bloom with golden leaves and pink blossoms and the guy across the street sleeping on an abandoned couch that was dumped in front of the church a few weeks back.

He has his bike (almost certainly stolen) half under his blankets and a red tarp arrangement on a pole above set-up.

The clothes I wore out to the convenience store (first time in 10 days) at sunrise are in the dryer. My phone, keys and wallet have been swabbed with 70% alcohol.

I had my big exciting weekly outing with my neighbor to the grocery on Tuesday. Gloves and masks; the whole shebang. Still no flour to be found. I hear rumors that some local bakeries that buy flour in bulk are selling small quantities to home bakers if you ask nicely and it may come to that.

My leg, hip thing got to the point where I decided I needed to stay off of it for a time. Not being able to go for a long pensive walk in the unfolding Eastertide has been a bit frustrating.

A couple of days ago I was thinking about what else I could do to make it better and I decided to look into taking a break from the statin I am taking for my heart disease.

I emailed my doctor and she got back to me right away and said sure, that I could take a break for two weeks, see if there is an improvement and make sure I report back.

Yesterday was the first day I didn’t take it. For months I have been waking up every morning with both my Achilles tendons so painful I have to rub them out before I put weight on my feet in the morning. I noticed the difference right away this morning. They still hurt but so much less.

And my leg, hip thing is better too! About the same amount. I can still feel the hitch in the hip and the discomfort but it is manageable.

I am looking forward to getting better each day now. It means I can get out and walk a bit more. Good for my mood and my legs.

Today I will start reading my fourth murder mystery in the same amount of weeks. I find reading more engaging than just about anything else and I am grateful for the skillful writers that create these books. I am also grateful for the library that makes them available.

My students are telling me they want to pay me for the work I am doing on these Zoom yoga, meditation classes. Hey, that works for me. I just don’t want anyone to feel like they can’t participate because they can’t pay.

I shall save the money towards a new laptop and an external camera so that I can create full bodied gentle classes as opposed to what we are doing now with the chair.

Does it seem to you that folks out there are getting a tad bit irritable, grumpy, short in the temper department? It seems like as we drag into the second month the adaptation to isolation is getting a little, umm, old.

But then you look at the suffering…and it all gets real.

I hope we can all hang in there and smash that curve to smithereens.


Last updated April 11, 2020


Deleted user April 10, 2020

I think it is getting old and difficult for most people. I can't imagine having a whole family in one house with no outlets... it must be hard for even the closest families.

Kwanzan cherries - can't wait to see them blooming here. Six more weeks at least!

That's great that you feel better without the statin - but will you have to start taking it again in two weeks?

noko Deleted user ⋅ April 10, 2020

I don’t know. I take another drug that has a similar goal so maybe they will let me slide without taking it until the medical system stabilizes and they can do more tests.

Marg April 12, 2020

Folk are definitely a lot grouchier - even in here people have been stepping on toes and apologising all over the place! Understandable I suppose. We’re being told to do the exact opposite of everything we’ve been encouraged for years to do for a physically healthy, mentally stable lifestyle - it’s bound to take its toll. But at least we’re all in the same boat pretty much so people understand :)

Jinn April 13, 2020

I know I am more irritable and sometimes feel very sad. Whenever I have to go out: it feels like being let out of jail !
I am glad you are going to get paid for the classes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.