littlemissnobody... who? in Who Am I?/Unseen

  • April 10, 2020, 2:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

“The first thing you are going to want to know about me: boy or girl?” This is one the first lines in Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin. (It is an excellent book by the way, if anybody needs a book recommendation.”) Well, it is true. Whoever may be reading this, you want to know what I am.

I am assigned female at birth, but who cares. I am currently questioning what in the world my brain has wired me as. I feel like gender fluid is the right term, but in all honesty, I really could not care less. Some times, I do feel like I am female, but I do not know if that is due to my physical anatomy or not. Others, I feel more masculine. And most of time, I am somewhere in between. A fusion.

My brain really is a maze.

What I hate the most, though, is that I cannot let my parents in on this “little secret.” When I tried to mention that I was not completely straight, they wrote it off as me being too young to know these things, which I do understand. Maybe I am too young and this is “just another phase.” But I do think I would know if I am looking at all people of different types and… well let us just say that there are thoughts that are beyond friendship.

See? I cannot even select a correct term for my sexuality. If I have no clue what gender I am supposed to be, how do I find a way to describe my affectionate feelings. I could say bisexual, which sounds most proper, but I also would fall for any good personality given the time.

You know what? Forget labels. I will just deal with the complications like all of life’s other wildcards. I will bury it away and not to cause anymore stress on other people.

I apologize for my not-so-little rant. My head really is just a mess and I do not know what to do with it. Let’s see what else is up with me.

The main thin anybody knows of me is that I am a serious bookworm. And I mean serious. Books are my everything. They provide an escape from reality and my problems into someone else’s world. I love it. (I do not, however, really like video games. Some are okay, like classics.) I like many different types of books, but not much nonfiction. I read Anne Frank’s diary and really liked it, but I still felt weird reading it. She did not intend on people really seeing it, so I felt bad reading through personal things, even though her dad would not have published it if she did not think it was okay.

My taste in music cannot be defined. I like almost everything. Not much country music is my cup of tea, but I do like the old country. (The new stuff is more pop-ish.) I have a soft spot for all of the cute little songs and indie music. I like all the classics and rock (The Beatles, Led Zepplin, etc.) I get that taste from my older brother. One of his current favorites is Tame Impala, and I think they are pretty awesome, too. Give me a song and, if the lyrics and chords connect with me, I’ve got it in some playlist. I just love music.

I am learning to play guitar and ukulele. I am working on creating songs of my own. I am also working on a book series that I am excited about(shshshshshshsh). I care to deeply, forgive to easily, and forget almost nothing, unless it is important because of course I would.

There is so much more to me that I guess we will see as these entries unfold, if anyone is actually reading them. I am tired, though and want to try to sleep. I have not been able to sleep well for a while. I writing this right now in the middle of the night with everything all silent (which is why this entry is kind of sucky. I am usually a pretty decent writer. I am taking advantage of this opportunity of sleepiness. Let’s hope the nightmares hold off tonight.


Last updated June 13, 2020


Deleted user April 11, 2020

I'm 34 and have been married nearly 9 years, and still don't have my gender or sexuality figured out.

Don't feel pressured or rushed to figure it all out, the most important part is accepting yourself, no matter what you figure out about yourself. Easier said than done, but possible. :)

littlemissnobody Deleted user ⋅ April 12, 2020

Thank you. I like your profile picture by the way. Joker is awesome.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.