Dishing in These Foolish Things

  • April 9, 2020, 2:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

…or, some things I’ve learned while in self-isolation:

  • I like to do my dishes by hand rather than do a load in the dishwasher. If I do them by hand as soon as I have finished making my meal, they are DONE. No sitting in the sink because I have to unload the dishwasher before I can load it again and do more dishes. No unloading the dishwasher at all! Just seems to make life easier.

  • I found out yesterday that two “friends” of mine have been playing an odd trick on me for years, telling me that they did not know one another. One of the friends just happens to be an ex-lover. The other, a girlfriend I sometimes dish with about my lovers (ex and otherwise). Yesterday, I was trying to do both of them a favor and thought it would be nice to connect them from a business standpoint. One asked for help and the other owns an essential business that I knew could help, so I thought I was being this super useful conduit. It’s funny how a crisis will bring out slips and I caught one of them in a slip. I played it off for the most part. I haven’t really confronted either one of them and I don’t know if I ever will. I just know now that they know each other and I will never dish to either one of them again.

  • Apparently, I still got it. Does this make me a dish? The weather has been nothing short of stellar the last couple of days. I’ve been able to put on some summery dresses while walking the dog. They make me feel so pretty and alive - kind of the opposite of how I’ve been feeling the last couple of weeks. Anything to lift the mood, right? So as I was walking this afternoon, on my late-lunch dog walk again (seems to be a good time to get out and I rarely encounter another human being), a guy in a sleek, black Corvette rolls by and honks his horn. I was kinda like, do I know this person? He actually circled around and pulled into a parking garage and peeked out the other side, right as I was about to cross the entrance to the garage. He says hello and I do the same, thinking maybe I know this person? Upon closer inspection, I realize that I do NOT know him and that he’s actually trying to get to KNOW me??! He’s asking my name??? I mean, nice-looking dude and all, but I imagine if he’s trying to pick up a total stranger like that in the middle of a PANDEMIC, then something’s not right. I assume he’s rolling around town doing that with anyone who’s out and will pay attention. Maybe I’m not a dish after all. But I certainly won’t be a sitting duck. I waved him on by and wished him a good day.

  • My dog has extended the olive bone and we are back to being besties. Just for that, I filled her dish with extra special treats today (turkey meatballs!). She actually came to play with me right after I wrote last night’s entry. My heart cracked wide open. I’m lucky I have a little soul with me in this apartment. I could very easily become horribly lonely during this time, but I’ve found that I’ve had not one moment of boredom since the whole Shelter In Place started. Do I miss human interaction? That’s debatable. I’ve had a lot of great video chats and things (I’m so happy my parents have figured out how to video chat! And I’ve got another virtual happy hour with my college girls tonight). Would love some human touch, but I’m feeling a tiny bit ambivalent about it right now. Sure, I like to joke about being horny and all that, but truth be told, I just want us all to be healthy and safe again.

Okay, enough dishing. I got other stuff to do!
GS


confusedchick April 09, 2020

Saw this on the front page. Something similar happened to me too with a guy in my neighborhood right about when all this got bad. He tried to get me to talk to him like 4 times. Bruh, no. SIX FEET (and preferably more!) AWAY. lol

Satine April 09, 2020

1 - yay, I don't trust dishwashers unless you have a big family or dinner parties what is the point?

  1. What is the point of this...to play games? Not cute or cool. You're better than this.

  2. You are THE most gorgeous DISH, but also so much more than that. Organized, stylish, smart and loving, and deserve the same in a partner. I love a Corvette but where is he driving nowadays? To groceries and he sees you on the street okay...you are stunning and tall and striking, it's natural his mind is blown. I think okay to say your name from a distance or bluetooth your contact details to him but beyond that, who knows. I admire you so much and you deserve someone special. Sometimes I think you fall outside of the narrow mold of your town which makes me really mad. Hope you find someone as great as you soon...and that things get better all around soon...

Complicated Disaster Satine ⋅ April 09, 2020

110% this! Apart from the dishwater thing! Xx

Marg April 09, 2020

I’ve always loved doing the dishes myself in the sink and have never owned a dishwasher. And funnily enough although Nikki has one she often does her dishes herself as well - that’s been a recent thing. You’d think with 3 kids it would be the other way round! :)
God the guy in the Corvette - bit creepy!
Do you think maybe the two folk had such a tenuous connection they thought it wasn’t worth mentioning or something? How did you find out they knew each other?

Jinn April 10, 2020

The friend thing is creepy ...
And so might be that guy... but whatever ; it was a compliment ..

pandora April 12, 2020

Oops, I missed this one. I too prefer washing the dishes by hand these days. I've been washing, drying, and putting away immediately after each meal and the house feels so organized.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.