My Hunch** in These Foolish Things

  • April 6, 2020, 3:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

UPDATE: Sorry, all, I’m obviously having trouble communicating tonight! Clarifications noted in entry…

Well, looks like my hunch about six feet apart not being far enough may have been right after all. Now the CDC recommends mask-wearing when out of the house (to clarify, by mask-wearing, I mean a cloth non-medical face covering. I am wearing makeshift masks out of bandanas and lightweight cloth napkins and strips of tights that I’ve cut up. I throw them in the wash as soon as I get home from dog walks).

I seem to be one of the minority doing this every time I leave the house. Not many people are following the CDC’s recommendations yet. I imagine that it won’t be long before more people catch on. I haven’t been back to the store yet since going to get meds for my parents (Saturday, March 28) and I don’t plan on going until I need to go back this coming Saturday (April 11th). Suppose if I go to the store once every two weeks and wear my N95 mask I should be okay.

Had a video doctor appointment last week. It was my 3 month follow up appointment - and it’s now been a year since my carotid artery dissection, so I needed to update the doc on how I’m doing and get Rx refilled and all of that good stuff. I told him that I had ONE N95 mask and he said “good” and that it will protect me. He said that he and his fellow physicians are given one N95 mask per week. So he explained how to reuse them and it was exactly what my brother had said as well (store in brown paper bag in cool, dry place for a week…well, doc said 72 hours, but I think the longer the better and I hope not to be “out” any more than 1x/week, preferably biweekly).

Also had a veterinary appointment for my dog, Martini. It was her annual check up. I pulled into the parking lot and called the office to tell them that we were there and a nurse came out and got the dog and took her inside the building where the vet gave her the once over and called me to discuss. 10 minutes and nearly $500 later and we were off and running over to the CVS where I had to pick up my Rx.

Between drugs, dog, and deliveries (Amazon goods), I spent about a thousand dollars this weekend! Good news is, that will keep me stocked drug-wise for three months and dog-wise for six months and supplies-wise for at least a couple of weeks. Been thinking about my budget moving forward as we all must live as if we’ve been laid off. It seems it’s only a matter of time for all of us.

HOWEVER. My company is an “essential business” yet it was announced that they would stop contributing to our 401Ks this week. It was also announced that we did have some layoffs on our factory side (nobody I know) and that we could experience additional layoffs within the corporate office. One just never knows, does one?

I also had a phone interview with a new company last week. I’m a pretty perfect fit for this role and the HR person and the recruiter both know it, so there’s the potential for a backup plan. The problem is, I am not super passionate about the product that I’d need to develop. I’m sure that there are ways I could really get into it, but right now, it just does not seem to be where I want to go. Still, beggars cant be choosers in light of all that’s happening. I’m just gonna have to see how it all plays out.

And in case you’re thinking that I have gotten super, SUPER boring and all scaredy-cat-like, hiding in my apartment….well, you should know me better than that. I’ve always got something up my sleeve.

Of course, I had to check in on Doc. D to see how he’s doing on the front lines of this crisis, and of course, it’s wild and wooly. But OF COURSE, he’s still horny as ever. And seeing as we’re both alone during this time, he practically begged me for some sexy photos, which I obliged. Just because (to clarify, NO PART of any of the above was done in person - all communication was done via text! And it was all in good fun to break down some of the stress levels).

I mean, LOOK. WE ARE IN CRISIS, PEOPLE. And in these times, we are allowed to do a few things that we might shouldn’t do. Sue me.

Bottom line, I’m glad I still have a doctor on my side (however naughty) during these times.

Gotta roll. I’m sleepy and I’m still working first thing in the morning.

G’nite,
GS


Last updated April 06, 2020


Satine April 06, 2020

Things sound fairly good! Stay well 💜

bobbi01 April 06, 2020 (edited April 06, 2020)

Edited

Wow vets are expensive . I have a sick cat, and they are charging me $45 ,for a phone consult this afternoon. I'm scared that I will have to drive and collect antibiotics, as the police are stopping people and asking them to 'state their business'. I'm sure Dr D is probably in a living hell, nice of you to provide him with a distraction 😁

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ April 06, 2020

Yeah, my vet in particular is CRAZY expensive. But I like them - though my dog detests going!

And thank you for saying that about Dr. D. That's all I meant...I'm hoping that he can be a little distracted from all of this living nightmare.

Complicated Disaster April 06, 2020

Wowsers. That was one expensive vet visit!!
Also, yay for sexy photos 😉 xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 06, 2020

Yeah, they are crazy expensive! But they have taken good care of her all her life. And she needs those shots and meds.

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ April 06, 2020

Whatever it takes :-) xx

littlefallsmets April 06, 2020

If it makes you feel any better, you inspired me to start writing a parody of that rap song "My Humps" about being a hunchback.

Ginger Snap littlefallsmets ⋅ April 06, 2020

Okay, that DOES make me feel better! Wait... hunchback?! 😭

littlefallsmets Ginger Snap ⋅ April 06, 2020

My HUNCH, my hunch my hunch my HUNCH, my hunch my hunch, my lovely spinal bunch check it out!

Ginger Snap littlefallsmets ⋅ April 06, 2020

Oh my god, that is amazing.

Marg April 06, 2020

Hey we take the breaks where we can get ’em - long as you wiped down that phone after getting it all steamy😂

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ April 06, 2020

I wiped it down so hard!!

Marg Ginger Snap ⋅ April 06, 2020

😳😁

plushcreep April 06, 2020

I definitely think we can all be forgiven for distractions (sexual or otherwise) during this time!

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ April 06, 2020

I hope so. It's such a sensitive time right now that I maybe should have thought about it a little more before I wrote about it in my PUBLIC journal!

pandora April 07, 2020

We spent about $1000 on Ezra plus like $500 on groceries and booze in the past two weeks! Thankfully other than that, we aren't spending a dime!

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ April 07, 2020

Yeah, I blew my wad on Saturday and haven't spent any more since. Kinda thinking I could use more booze.

Jinn April 10, 2020

I have never spent so much on groceries in my life but they have definitely raised prices here :-(
I am glad you have this other job to consider .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.