Sunday sun day in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 5, 2020, 7:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The sun is shining here today. I was not up when the sun came up so I did not witness the event. But it happened anyway, without me.

Jim and I have played four isolation Scrabbles. He’s won all of them. I am not trying really hard but I’m not much good so even if I tried I’d probably lose. But. Last game I made the word ‘pustule’. It wasn’t on high number squares so I didn’t get a big score but I was happy to have used two of my three U’s and even better to have found an open L to work from. We also had ‘quill’ and a few other interesting words. And it went quick. Very little of that slow dithering or even worse that blaming the other person for taking their opportunity. I’d like to play Scrabble every night - yeah I’m that kind of girl - but I have to wait for my partner to get in the right mood.

I have a link to a short dog walking account - https://www.magzter.com/article/Lifestyle/New-York-magazine/Walk-the-Dog

My most recent New York had a lot of isolation ideas. That magazine is very good at little padded out lists. One was of art movies to watch at home. I read them - The 400 Blows, Breathless, several Japanese films, several Italian ones - but no Ingmar Bergman movies. Strange to think Bergman who was so hot (or cool) during those same years did not make the list. I saw a few of him movies on TV ages ago and I managed to understand at least one of them - it had good subtitles.

They also had a list of Comfort TV. The programs I knew were Cheers, Frasier, Mary Tyler Moore and Newhart and the Sopranos. I found myself wondering how Tony would do as President. I could see him and his crew settling into the White House and running the country. He’d have flirted a little with Angela Merkel.

btw Merkel gave an outstanding speech about the Corona Virus.

This is more German than I’ve ever listened to. She has a very pleasant voice and the content is good. No wonder she and Trump never got to be besties. They are too different from each other… neither are the kind of people the other would respect.


Just Annie April 05, 2020

Trump doesn't seem to like strong women. Probably because they make terrible 'yes men' and won't kiss his ass.

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ April 05, 2020

Saw something - wish I'd saved it that said he doesn't like 'expertise'.

WhatDreamsMayCome April 05, 2020

Now that is a leader who inspires confidence.

ConnieK April 05, 2020

Isn't Tony Soprano ALREADY in the Oval Office? Oh, that's right...he's the Tony Soprano wannabe.

AppleGirl April 05, 2020

God, I love Angela Merkle.

noko April 05, 2020

Congratulations on your word! These little victories enrich life.

NorthernSeeker April 05, 2020

The word pustule has such a plague connotation to it...well done. It should have been worth more points. How long does a game of Scrabble usually last? Mr. NS and I are watching a Steve McQueen movie called "The Sandpebbles"...it's really good if you have 3 hours to spare. We watched half of it yesterday.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ April 05, 2020

I remember that movie. US Navy in China in early 1900s.
Game takes an hour, Jim thinks, though last one with 'imagine' too, was less than an hour.

Jinn April 10, 2020

She does appear to be a strong woman , who knows exactly what she wants and how to get it , in a dignified fashion . I admire that but I am sure Donald would not . She makes him look like a fool .

Serin April 11, 2020

Tony would totally flirt with Angela, but I think she'd frustrate him a great deal.

Pustule is a grand word to play, regardless of how it got scored.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ April 11, 2020

I've been watching youtube clips from various Sopranos seasons - I thought I'd seem most of them but I'm surprised at the violence. I knew it was violent - that was the purpose - but wow there was a lot.
Merkel was a science professor in East Germany. Serious woman.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.