Scared.. (long one) in A Day in the Life of Me

  • April 2, 2020, 1:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday I had the biggest scare.. anyone who follows my FB already knows the details, but for those who don’t, here’s the back story.
I have a senior cat. He’s almost 14, I’ve had him since he was 4 weeks old, and for the last number of years has had mild asthma.
This past winter, it’s been the worst it’s ever been. More cough fits, more hard time catching his breath after.
I’ve changed alot in his environment in the past number of months with research that I personally never thought. No air fresheners of any kind, scent products to be used as little as possible.
More wet food, he’s always been a hard kibble cat, and. Free-feeder, so changing him over to a raw completely, would not be a fun experience for either of us.
Anywho, yesterday his breathing was so so hard, he couldn’t get a proper breath.
I was terrified.
I called our vet to see about getting him in for an anti inflammatory shot, cause online research said that’s what he needed, got the appointment set, started getting ready to walk up (vets not far), and my boss calls to say she’s sending her husband to drive us.
Just as he arrives, the vet calls to cancel, because she didn’t have the meds he needs.
Cue more panic.
We called the vet across the road from ours, they had the meds. They could see him, at 9.
Husband said he’d call them back, meanwhile I’m out talking to boss’ husband cause he had left there place before I got the msg to her about the cancellation.
Before I headed out, I told him to call them back and book it. By the time he got em back on the phone, it was 10pm appointment.
It was currently 4 pm…
Boss’ hubby was there while the call was being made, and said not a problem he would be back in time to pick us up for the next appointment.
Cue me sitting around stressing for the next 5.5 hrs.
Had a bath, had a drink, sat staring at him, paced, and just essentially drove myself nuts.
Anyway as the day went on, his breathing eased a bit, he had a bite to eat and a pee while I was in the tub. Got him to his appointment, they came out to the car to get him (closed door policy with everything going on), doc called to get the jist of the issues, then examined him, called back to discuss options. She wanted x-rays on his chest ,I don’t have the $200 for it. Discussed treatment, I wanted a quick shot just to get him through, but she said those are hard on the system.. so now he’s on two pills (each once a day) and syringe twice a day.
And the poor vet tec, brought him back out with his meds and such, and was telling me, he would have been out a little sooner, but after she got him back in the carrier, he had a big poo.. 😂
Poor baby was probably embarrassed.
Anyway she said she took him back out, cleaned him and it up, and then got him ready to come back to me.
Got him home, and just let him rest for the rest of the night,, msg’d a friend who used to work at the clinic we took him to, and she helped me figure out what,how and when for his meds.
We started first round this morning.

All this, after I had researched and researched homeopathic remedies for him, and finally selected one last week and ordered it, was supposed to be here on the 6th, then it was supposed to be here tomorrow.

Guess what was in the mail this morning..

Anyway, get him through this month of meds, then we’ll see what the go is.
Will still probably get him the X-ray, but I’ll have it done at my vet. She wanted to rule out (Hopefully) tumors and scaring.
I just want him to be able to breathe.


Babe In Toyland April 03, 2020

Such a worry. :(

Canadian Lass Babe In Toyland ⋅ April 03, 2020

it really was.. we're on day 2 of meds, he fights every inch of the way, but we're getting it done. the worst is on pill is really big, but that one is only 7 days, and then we have the prednisone, which in a few more days will get reduced to half , so at that point i might just start crushing it and hiding it in his wet food, but that med will be about a month as there is a ton of it to get into him. then its just the doxy in the syringe to deal with (twice a day for another 8.5 days)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.