I Can Live With This in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 1, 2020, 3:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Of course there has never been a time like this in the last 100 years or so here. Most every day I go out for a walk and I am lucky enough to live close by to green space. The unfolding spring is an absolute wonder, particularly when the changeable sky involves shadow and sun. The light on the newly leafing trees softens the eyes and eases the heart. The lilacs are beginning to bud as well.

Yesterday morning my neighbor took me to the grocery. There was still no flour, empty shelves that go on and on but otherwise they had everything I needed and a few things I didn’t. Oh, they are out of the standard multigrain crackers too. People must be carb loading with homemade bread and healthy crackers. We won’t talk about rice or cleaning supplies or paper products.

As I was Zooming with Kes Mrs. Sherlock texted that she was outside. She had gone to Costco. She had placed on the steps a big Costco roll of paper towels, a big package of antiseptic wipes and a big bunch of yellow tulips! We stayed about 8 feet apart and chatted briefly. It was such a treat.

As with so many of us, her hair color was growing out and she had gone to her own grocery recently and found an $8 box of red hair dye and applied it herself. She loves bright colors and this is bright and it looks great and draws attention away from the thinning that I am lucky not to be experiencing yet.

In the afternoon I participated in a Zoom basics Webinar. It was live so it was very topical and the trainer was working from home. He has a green screen. Wow. I am thinking I am going to need to buy an external camera.

Monday I did a Zoom meeting with my students at the regular class time and I had 11 participants. We did a little checking in, some simple constrained movements and a guided relaxation practice. It was so great to see and hear from everyone, no matter how blurry they were.

My oldest students, they are a couple, signed in but I couldn’t hear or see them. They emailed me after and said they could see us and really enjoyed it.

Community and connection is so important right now. Especially the comforts of familiarity; (which except for the folks we are sheltering with), has got to make a huge difference.

I noticed energetically that my body, after seven days at home or out for a walk, responded well to being in the store with others. It wasn’t as crowded as last week and maybe by next week it will be even calmer.

As a dedicated introvert I would never have imagined myself saying that.

One of the podcasts I listened to this morning when getting my cardio included interviews with three extremely extroverted folks and touched on what a hard time they are having. I get that.

But seriously, I have had to live my whole life here with extroverts being in charge. While I have compassion for the challenges extroverts have staying home (if they are privileged enough to be able to stay home) I am enjoying the turning of the tables a bit, I admit.

I am having a low activity day today, as it is overcast and raining periodically. The only yoga I will be doing is my own. I talked to Kes this morning. Spring break is officially over for our colleges and Most Honorable is teaching his first full day remotely. He didn’t really get a break because he has been preparing for this pretty much nonstop since the directive came down.

Mrs. Sherlock and I will Zoom later, now that we have figured all that out, so I am looking forward to it.

Diego had a ‘normal” throw-up this morning after three days hale and healthy. I can live with this but I hope it is something I can find a fix for eventually.

Hey, it took 47 years to find a fix for my migraines, I can deal with a few more months with Diego as long as he is not suffering.


Last updated April 02, 2020


Deleted user April 01, 2020

48 years! What was the solution to stopping your migraines? You tell me yours and I'll tell you what stopped mine instantly! :)

One of the many great things about all this is that so many people who thought they couldn't use technology now can! I love the picture of the elderly couple watching your yoga class!

noko Deleted user ⋅ April 02, 2020

My doctor took me off the drugs I had been taking for years (because of what was going on with my heart) and gave me an old school antidepressant that I took at night for maybe 3 weeks. It had side effects so I was okayed to stop and it was enough. The drug must have reset something in my system. Poof! It is such a miracle to not have those headaches anymore.

Deleted user noko ⋅ April 02, 2020

Wow, so fascinating. Could it have been the result of going off those heart meds?

Amazing how sometimes the body just resets like that. I went Paleo in my eating about um, 8.. maybe 10 years ago. My regular migraines stopped instantly! It wasn't even something I was expecting or hoping for. Eliminating grains and sugar had a drastic and immediate effect. I also got my period the next month. It had been very irregular (once or twice a year).

Since then I've never missed a monthly cycle nor had a migraine, even though I definitely go through seasons where I'm not as careful with my eating.

Forgive me if I've told you all this before (or if I do again in the future). ☺

noko Deleted user ⋅ April 02, 2020

It is wonderful you got such great results from changing up your diet. In my case it was for sure the new (old) drug that works on the vagus nerve and some of the same triggers for migraines. I know a lot of migraines in women are related to their hormonal balance and diet clearly is a factor there so good on you for figuring that out.

Marg April 04, 2020

Introverts of the world unite - this is Our Time - at last!😁

edna million April 07, 2020

LOL, I am SO with you on not feeling that sorry for the extroverts.... we've put up with Extrovert World forEVER, and now it's our turn! I am loving the social isolation myself, although I know I'm really lucky to be isolated with someone I like quite a lot, and that we have enough space for alone time too. AND no kids. But basically I've been practicing for this my entire life. It's heaven!

Jinn April 13, 2020

I never thought of myself as an extrovert but I am intensely tired of social isolation. I am in the house way too much . The weather has been bad and just taking my dogs out is unpleasant . I need to make a big effort to go out more .
These days I am glad I do not have to color my hair but oh, I need a hair cut BAD !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.