What I'm Thinking About All of This in These Foolish Things

  • April 1, 2020, 10:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay. I do want to write after all. I have a lot of thoughts on this whole Corona situation. Now keep in mind that this list is going to be fluid and I’m definitely not saying that I’m correct, so please be gentle in your comments. BUT. Here’s what I’m thinking about at the moment:

  • Regarding social distancing, I’m not so sure that six feet apart is far enough. Why do I think this? So, I live in an urban setting, right? And urban settings are getting hit so hard with this disease. I mean, I get it - we’re in closer proximity to each other. And staying six feet apart is supposed to help us stay away from the droplets that come out of an infected person’s mouth. BUT! On Saturday I was walking on the city trail along with hundreds and hundreds of other people. We all wanted to get out on a beautiful day and get some exercise. But I could hear people breathing hard, even when we were over six feet apart. Like, when you’re PUSHING air out of your lungs and the wind is blowing…think about how far your breath can travel. Also, I was walking the dog and nearing my apartment building and there was a guy smoking a cigarette on the stoop. I was about 20 feet away and the wind was blowing and I could smell and TASTE that smoke! That’s the stuff that came out of his lungs (along with the potential of coronavirus, right?). AND this morning I was walking the dog through a park (the only other people in there were a couple of dog walkers, security and cleaners) and a guy was spraying down the handles of the trash bin and I was probably 50 feet away from him…but I still got particles of the disinfectant in my mouth and nose - I could smell and taste them! Which brings me to my next bullet point.

  • Mask wearing. I got an N95 mask from my brother, just one. And he told me how to be very careful and reuse it by putting it into a paper bag and letting it sit for a week in a cool, dry place. I wore it and sunglasses (eye protection) and a hat and gloves for when I went to pick up my parents’ meds and some supplies for them (and me) over the weekend. But other than that, I haven’t been wearing masks. I’m about to change that. I’m going to start wearing a makeshift mask when I go out from now on. I’ve seen a good video on how to make one with a bandana and some elastic hair ties and I’m going to make one (actually, multiples so I can wash them over and over) and filter it with a folded up paper towel. I realize that the jury is out on mask wearing, but even if the very LEAST of the effect is that people will stay a little farther away from me, then it will be a success. I have also been thinking about how wearing masks might become more of a “thing” here in the US as they have become in other countries (particularly Aisan countries). Something to think about.

  • If you are divorced and have kids who are going back and forth and your ex lives with a new significant other and your ex is a medical worker, essential employee, etc… you are NOT practicing safe social distancing, no matter how careful you say you are being. I had a Circle Back from a guy I was seeing last year around this time who started texting me about the updates I’m posting on social media and how much he is enjoying them, and then he started telling me about the kid situation and I didn’t want to tell him that I thought what he was doing with shipping his kids back and forth was dangerous, but DAMN. I hate to say this, but I didn’t really want anything to do with the guy. I suppose this pandemic is giving me a hard shell and that’s really sad, but to be honest, I am in self-preservation mode. I am taking care of me, my dog, my parents and my brother’s family as much as I can from a distance and I believe I’m helping others by staying as far away as I can. It’s heartbreaking and horrible, but it’s going to get worse before it gets better.

  • I do believe this is going to get better. We are going to come out of this, but not without some heartbreak and I’m currently feeling heartbreak and bracing for worse. We have just GOT to get through this.

  • Working from home is good and I like it. I have set up a little workspace in my apartment and I’m actually surprised by how well it works. I enjoy staying away from others and conference calls for the most part, and I absolutely LOVE being able to take little breaks and walk the dog and make my lunch in my own kitchen. I don’t know how long it will last. I am hearing of layoffs and furloughs and all kinds of economic disaster, but I can only cross that bridge when I get to it. I did have a phone interview with a recruiter yesterday for a development job that sounds interesting, but apparently the job doesn’t pay nearly as much as I make right now. I told her that I was still interested in discussing with the company because you just never know… I do need to keep my search up. It’s going to get wild and wooly out there. Our CEO called a Skype meeting with the business leaders today. This should get interesting

  • Healthy living. It comes and it goes. I got really good with my early morning workouts. Finally, after being afraid to work out after my carotid dissection (I’m coming up on a year since that happened), I have been doing early morning video workouts and I have been loving them! 30 minutes in the morning get the body moving and the good sweat going. But I will confess that for the last two days I didn’t have it in me. Yesterday I had a very important call with my boss that I needed to prep for, and this morning…well, I just didn’t have it in me. I KNOW that I feel better when I do a good workout, so I’m going to promise myself that I’ll do it tomorrow morning, but I cut myself some slack this morning. Sometimes you gotta let yourself slack - just not every day! Gotta stay on top of this! Same goes for eating - which should be a whole other entry!

Okay, better get a move-on. I have a webinar in a few minutes and I need to get some other stuff out, but I’m glad I wrote this entry. I’m sure it’ll all change tomorrow, but these are today’s thoughts.

I hope you all are staying healthy and well.

Stay home!!!
GS


Jinn April 01, 2020

I think you are right . Six feet : especially if people are exercising or coughing is not enough. I think masks are going to be a “ thing” now. I bought bandanas for us to make them. It just pays to be careful if you must go out . I have to ; so I am going to be cautious . I stay out of even the grocery store ( and that is the only place I go ) as much as possible .
Like sending kids back and forth ; my guys ( my husband and son ) have to go to their offices ( where there are other people) intermittently . It’s imperstive for them to keep their jobs :-( , so we just have to be as careful as possible . Luckily there are not a lot of people infected here yet . These are scary times ! Stay safe and well !

pandora April 01, 2020

My ex is a cop who has a kid, and her new fiancée is a paramedic. The other mother of my ex’s kid also has a new fiancée who has two other children. My ex refuses to stop her custody weeks even though she and her partner are on the front line, so her ex had to move out of her girlfriend’s home so as not to possibly infect their family. I feel like that’s a little selfish but I guess I also see how hard it would be to not have access to your kid for god knows how long. But what about protecting him too?? I don’t know. I’m not a parent so I try not to judge but... I’m maybe judging a little.

Your points are all very valid!

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ April 01, 2020

I know. I felt judgy when I thought about this and wrote it down. I truly don't mean to be an ass about it, but it's truly NOT SAFE for anyone. And I do agree, I can't imagine not being able to see my kid, but for everyone's sake you have to pick a place and just stay there. It's temporary. It's for everyone's good!

Complicated Disaster April 01, 2020

I'm so glad I live in a small town. I don't really see anyone from day to day even normally. Right now the only thing that really worries me is going to the supermarket. I'll be wearing a mask for that going forward. xx

Marg April 01, 2020

These are very good points and I agree with all of them!

littlefallsmets April 01, 2020

At the local pharmacy, they put up little plexiglass screens to separate the clerks from the customers... but at 6'6, I could basically cough over the screen if I was sick. People try, I suppose.

plushcreep April 01, 2020

I think...there's only so much you can do. And by all means, you should do those things, but in the end so much of this advice is arbitrary. Six feet, for instance. Sure: under ideal conditions (e.g., wind-free days) that might work fine, but there are always going to be variables that affect the outcome, and weather is just one of many.

Even WFH. It's great for me, and I'm being diligent about it, but Tara goes into the office every day. I go to the grocery store. I'm supporting local businesses by ordering take-out. All it takes is one person, somewhere, unknowingly, to make this whole social-isolating thing one giant moot point. It's maddening, but short of turning into a hermit (not an option), what can you do?

I think you're doing your best. I'm doing my best. We're all doing out best. And that's all any of us can do.

Nash April 02, 2020 (edited April 02, 2020)

Edited

We are all being forced into social situations normally never confronted in our daily lives. I am actually considering saying something to my housemate about her new boyfriend. Something like, "pick a place to live, but not both" and I do not think that is going to play well but what else am I supposed to do? She follows all the other rules well but this one thing she is a flagrant violater. I cannot get the virus, I have asthma, I am in my fifties and there is a family history of not doing well under this kind of thing.

I am completely with you on the six foot thing. It really does not seem enough.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ April 02, 2020

Oh god, yeah. Pick a place is suuuuper important right now. NO. You CAN'T get this thing!!

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ April 02, 2020

Oh god, yeah. Pick a place is suuuuper important right now. NO. You CAN'T get this thing!!

Cathy April 03, 2020

My husband saw something on tv with a group of doctors, and THEY were saying 6 feet was not enough.

He also said the CDC is about to come out and recommend wearing masks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.