The Artist is In in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 29, 2020, 8:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We are not self-isolating, we are Artists in Residence!

This picture is from a couple of days ago, the locusts over by the track just starting to bud. They shut down the restrooms and the parking at the track this last week. Lots of folks are still using the track and the interior field but they are all more local.

Diego is better! Yesterday he had a couple of coughing fits that made me a little uneasy so I am keeping an eye on him. This morning he had a normal amount of food and is calm and appears content. His energy is just fine. And Carlo remains healthy.

We are all putting on weight. Oh well. They are calling it “The Covid 19”.

I hope it won’t be that much. I was thinking last night about all those people out there who live in chronic pain and those with autoimmune conditions and how with the focus on the virus and all the energy expended on dealing with the pandemic everything is delayed.

The isolation cannot be helping.

I have these moments, usually one a day, where how bad this all is, how much suffering and sacrifice is going on sinks in. It feels like touching bottom.

I am not staying there but wow, just wow. You hear about these life altering events in other parts of the world, a war, a famine, or in looking back at history but in our complacency I don’t think we could have expected the disruption, the terror of so much fundamental change in our lifetimes.

Yesterday I sent out another invite for a Zoom gathering for all my students and almost all of them are going to try to participate. Even the 84 year old! I am going to offer them this anchor every week for the duration.

I need to figure out how to get my settings to thumbnail if I have more than 8 people participating. I need to figure out a lot more tech stuff in general but I will get there.

Besides that, my biggest challenge is provisioning. Should I InstaCart again, should I go back to the store with my neighbor Tuesday? Should I order for pickup and have someone do that for me? Should I walk to the store and bus back? Or walk and walk back?

And you know what? I am incredibly privileged to have all these options. I have so much to be grateful for I could go on and on about it.

All the preparation I did for retirement has been so helpful. Other than an appointment in early May for a teeth cleaning, which I am sure will be canceled I have no appointments until September to get my hearing aids recalibrated.

We did, very sadly, cancel our Easter trip to the beach a few weeks back.

We have gone every April for something like 12 years. It is a small community and they have closed everything and if one of us were to get sick we are all much better off at home, for us and for them.

The cats and I are looking forward to the next patch of sun, the next Zoom call (well at least I am, the cats like it that I stay put during the calls) and getting involved and engaged in yoga and writing and learning about birds and drawing and…

There is much dormant creativity to be unleashed during this time.

I say bring it on!


IpsoFacto March 29, 2020

The beautiful part about Prosebox is that we are all here sheltering together in a very cerebral manner. I always, upon reading your entries, feel that I am there with, communing as old friends do. By the way, the cats said they adore me even if I am a dog person at heart.

noko IpsoFacto ⋅ March 29, 2020

The cats do adore you! They are egalitarian. :)

Deleted user March 29, 2020

So much suffering and sacrifice... for sure. I believe we've only seen the tip of the iceberg but I hope I'm wrong.

Too bad about your traditional Easter trip... I hope you can make up for it later in the year.

Zipster March 29, 2020

I like your artists in residence take. And I am relieved to hear that Diego is so much better. I find that this "residency" is an exercise in needs versus wants.

edna million March 31, 2020

I love that we are all artists in residence now! Very sorry about the annual beach trip. I'll miss the pictures! Our county just announced yesterday that any second home owners who come here for an overnight stay will have to self-quarantine for two weeks. They've also banned all short term rentals.

I still haven't tried our yoga studio's zoom, but intend to. I'm so glad all of your guys are participating! That's good for everyone.

And good boy, Diego!

Marg April 04, 2020

Artists In Residence - I like it :) We had our Zoom Italian lesson this week and there were 12 of us - I couldn’t see everyone in the global view on my iPad and other iPad users said the same - I seemed only able to see 9 folk on the screen then had to scroll across to get the remaining 3. I might invest in a webcam so that I can use it on my Mac instead then I would also have the option of recording the sessions s as well which would be quite handy.
So glad to hear Diego is better!

Jinn April 13, 2020

I might be a artist in residence if I could quit being so lazy :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.