Wait a Minute, What Day is It??? in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 27, 2020, 2:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took this shot of a rhododendron beginning to open Wednesday while out for my constitutional. It all depends on the angle of the sun, this plant is east facing while the ones in front of my place are west facing and are not as far along.

Diego has had a relapse and has been throwing up pretty much everything he has been eating for about two and a half days. His energy is good, he is drinking and all his other systems are normal but I have been doing a lot of laundry and all my bedding is very clean.

My vet just sent an email to say they are closing down for a couple of weeks. If he is still not able to keep anything down tomorrow they can courier over some anti-nausea meds. He is just getting little bits of chicken and if I need to I will make some rice.

Because he hasn’t been feeling well, for the last 24 hours he has pretty much been on me or next to me non-stop and it is hard to get anything else done.

Kes did drive in pickup at her grocery yesterday and I got my first InstaCart delivery. I think am good until Tuesday when my neighbor can take me to the store again. Also Mrs. Sherlock has offered to shop for me. I don’t know why she thinks it is better for her to be exposed than me. What I can do is set up a pick up order and have her do that and drop the stuff here. I am Zooming with her tomorrow.

My big concern is kitty litter. The cats are used to this recycled paper litter that is not available everywhere. I have a 30 lb. bag ordered that I hope to get delivered tomorrow or Monday. I am good for at least another week but one doesn’t want to run out.

We could not find an easy way to send out the audio file yoga practice I recorded for the at home meditation retreat so I ended up doing it on a Zoom check-in call on Wednesday. I had to stay on the whole call for an hour and a half and it was stressful for me because of old water under old bridges and my relationship with the church.

But it is over and a number of women now know my way of teaching that did not know it before.

I am Zooming a class on Monday again. I went ahead and purchased the Pro version because it is a business expense. I am learning and will learn a lot more as we get further into this but right now I am taking care of Diego (and have all my fingers and toes crossed that this thing passes through him) and keeping my spirits up.

We have rain in the forecast, basically for the next week so I won’t be getting out as much. But I will look for opportunities between squalls.

Last week I formally applied for Social Security over the phone with a very stressed out new teleworker who was rushing me through the questions. It is a big step to start my retirement payments, a transitional moment. I get my first payment in July and then I will be set.

He asked me this question that made me laugh. He asked if I had ever committed a crime. I have not, at least not anything where I received a citation, a ticket or been arrested.

But seriously? Who among us has never jay walked or gone too fast in their car or run a red light or…? I can understand it if it was have you ever been convicted of a crime, but committed? That is a pretty high bar.

The cats are not very patiently waiting for their afternoon wet food and we know by now, after all this time at home, who is in charge around here and it for sure isn’t me.


IpsoFacto March 27, 2020

Love the photo. Beauty is timeless.

Ragdolls March 27, 2020 (edited March 27, 2020)

Edited

Did the SS person ask you if you owned a firearm? My friend said she was asked that when she applied a few years ago. That question really upset her.

Hope Diego gets better soon!

Marg March 28, 2020

Oh poor Diego! Bailey has apparently been spewing in sympathy but not bringing up food which worries me more. However nothing yesterday so fingers crossed🤞I’ll keep them crossed for D too :)
We are all Zooming everywhere now it seems! I’m trying my first one with Nikki this afternoon and hoping it works on my iPad because I have no camera on my Mac and my ancient webcam is in the depths of some cupboard somewhere!

noko Marg ⋅ March 28, 2020

I am Zooming from my iPad. You should be fine. Being able to see my family really helps brighten my days.

Marg noko ⋅ March 28, 2020

Oh good - thanks for that - you’re the first I’ve known to be doing it from an iPad!

Jinn March 28, 2020

Poor Diego . My cats do that every so often. I don’t think much about it . I hope the meds help .

edna million March 31, 2020

I wish I could share some cat litter with you - we have about a million boxes now, although it's Fresh Step. Mark is a Stock Up For The Apocalypse shopper at the best of times, and he has gone a little crazy with this.

noko edna million ⋅ March 31, 2020

At times like this a stock up for the apocalypse shopper in the house can be useful. I got my 30 lb bag on Sunday. Of course he delivered it when I was in the bathtub. He’s probably seen worse than a mostly dressed wet older woman but I was thrilled to take the delivery.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.