News from the year of the plague in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 17, 2020, 11:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m enjoying the hand washing part. I’ve never been a big handwasher and now that I’m being forced to do it, it’s kind of fun. I’m combining it with good wishes for the planet and for you especially and I also get to SING!!!

We stayed home Monday from Joana’s chemo trip. I called and they said it was ok and we will go again in two weeks. She’s new on her blood pressure medication and maybe they wanted to see her on that. Also she had lost weight at her last visit and I wonder if she’s lost more or has stabilized. I’m no longer providing her as much food as I was. She didn’t seem to want it or to eat it so I cut back. I don’t know if I’m doing the right thing or not. I have a pot of chicken soup - a package mixed enhanced with roasted chicken breast and a can of corn, that I find tasty. I will take her some of that later today.

I am out of diet pop and I really think I need some. I have decided to drink cheaper brands - just make sure it’s cold. We have a moderate amount of food at home. Last time I was at the local grocery everything seemed normal - there was plenty of everything. I suppose I won’t notice until it’s gone - huh?

Almost everything has closed or been cancelled. Schools, library, regular and irregular meetings. Our school bus driver friend worries about the kids on his bus - the school lunch was the only real meal some of them got. I read that other school districts are preparing lunches for free and reduced price lunch kids and they are being delivered to the kids at home. I see a lot of links on Facebook for ways to educate and entertain kids at home. Then there is the question of the parents. Who is going to work? Hard to figure that out too.

There have been two cases in our county. That was yesterday. They were in the town that has the foreign people.... forgive me the sins of m mouth.... of my brain.... of my fingertips. I can be nervous. I can be evil. I have a lot of possibilities.

Something that easily comes to my mind is the little pill container my brother offered me one of the last times I saw him. I had asked about ways out of life and there he was offering me my own ride. I didn’t take it. Maybe I should have. I see the opportunity in my mind.

I made an appointment with my doctor for tomorrow. I was supposed to see her after my blood pressure event that sent me to the hospital. They gave me a short prescription that still has a week or two left on it but I need to see my doctor. My blood pressure taken on the little machine is a lot better than drastic. It was ‘normal’ one night I got up in the middle of the night and took it. I don’t think that’s fair though… surprising my blood pressure like that. I am unsure about so many things. Should I have gone to the doctor sooner? How long should my list of ills be? Which are important and need to be fixed? What’s available?

Oh and I have many garbage sacks of nickel cans, more than I’ve ever had I think. Is the can redemption center open? That sounds like a kind of dangerous place to me.

Oh and the calves haven’t been sold. They usually aren’t sold by this time, but this is not a usual time and it might matter more this year. Will there even be sales for them? The first machinery sale was this week. I have no report on it.

It seems so unfair that everything and nothing are all happening at once. The census letters are coming. Today is primary election day in three big important states. Income tax is due in less than a month. Last quite a few years I’ve printed out forms at the library which is closed. I can’t believe I’m/we’re the only person/people who wait for the last minute. I haven’t made enough to file… but it makes me nervous. Everything is kind of nerve wracking. WHERE is my diet Pepsi?

Well guys, I guess that’s it for now. I could come up with some happiness.... I’m sure there is some around.... but not now.

Blessings on you all… now, forever. Be good. Be well.


ConnieK March 17, 2020

You are doing the right thing with your neighbor. As the body begins to shut down, appetite falls off. Pushing her body to eat makes her organs work harder and will actually hasten death.
Glad to hear your grocery stores are calm. I think we are all doing the right thing by self-isolating (no big deal in my world) and that it will not be as bad as everyone speculates. Time will tell. If the worst happens, we will deal with it. If it doesn't, we will rejoice.

woman in the moon ConnieK ⋅ March 17, 2020

Thank you. You are right. A wise woman, you are.

noko March 17, 2020

The thing that got me was the library saying...don't return your books! They are suspending fines while they are closed but I am like drat, I am usually up against the due date to return and now...la de da and I don't have any books out. I have an in person appointment Friday with Social Security and they just called to say the office is closed to the public and they will call me and conduct the appointment over the phone.

In the grocery this morning an Asian man coughed, open mouthed, and I admit I too had bad thoughts. I felt bad but I also made sure I wasn't near him again. We have these ingrained reactions. I was thinking this morning about wasting, when people get really sick and start wasting away, no matter how much you love that person the body reacts to it as a threat.

Just Annie March 17, 2020

Odd times, indeed. Our governor, not the candidate I voted for, is getting high marks for his handling of the virus crisis. We were supposed to have our primary today, but it has been rescheduled until June 2. I voted absentee.

It's nice to read an entry from you. I always enjoy your perspective. :)

Beret Just Annie ⋅ March 17, 2020

Yes, several governors have been doing an admirable job with all of this. Coherent, straightforward fact presentation while showing leadership.

Beret March 17, 2020

Tax deadline has been extended by 90 days. That's good news.

Bird of Paradise March 18, 2020

In our town the School buses are delivering food at the School Bus Stops to all children who need it. People just need to call and get on the list. I thought that was a great way to get the food to all the kids. There are 12 Bus routes.
I laughed at the that you also get to sing. Yeah hand washing. I knew it was more than what most do, but didn't do it as diligently as they show. I do now and will probably continue always.

Purple Dawn March 18, 2020

Be well. Enjoy that diet pop :)

Jinn March 21, 2020

Handwashing has become an obsession :-)
I do not have to worry about any shortage of books :-)

Serin March 22, 2020

Had you noticed a run on the soda too?

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ March 22, 2020

Not really. It was just expensive. Price goes up and down and yesterday it was down. So I bought some. My grocery and the Walmart in the next town seemed pretty well supplied. They ration toilet paper and there was less of some things but still plenty to buy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.